We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS HOTEL”
Reviewed April 29, 2009

I stayed here recently for business and I loved this hotel. The rate was just under $200 a night, which seems like a steal considering how luxurious this place is. My only complaint is that the parking is expensive at $50 or so per day, but since I'm not familiar with the area I didn't know of any other alternatives. Also, I would call ahead for my car, but they never had my car ready. I started to think calling ahead was useless, and that they don't actually get your car for you until you go downstairs and request it.

The rooms were amazing. I had a corner room and the exterior walls were all windows. The furniture and carpets are new and the beds are comfy. Not only do the rooms have flat screen TVs, but they have HD programming! I was so excited about this. Many hotels nowadays have the flat screen TVs, but IMO that is useless unless you actually provide the HD channels to go with it. The TVs were also a good size, my guess is 46".

I ordered room service a few times. It was a little pricey, but I thought the food was pretty good. Definitely better than most hotels. And the prices were probably in line with the city. I also used the gym which was really nice - lots of equipment and they provided headphones for the TVs.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and I would definitely consider staying at Intercontinental hotels in other locations because of the great experience I had in San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizsp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    996
    302
    100
    74
See reviews for
524
904
204
975
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a fun-filled weekend in SF and Napa, and we really couldn't be happier with our decision. Generally this hotel may be on the pricier side (but worth every penny), but I found an amazing deal on Travelzoo and got the room for a great price. We stayed at the Intercontinental for 3 nights which allowed us to properly feel out their amenities and services ... friendly and informative staff (see Durian for all the great SF hot spots and hidden gems), excellent fitness room, immaculate rooms and common areas, and great food! Parking at the hotel tends to be pretty expensive ($50+ for overnight parking with in/out privileges). There is a parking lot a block away if you are looking to save a couple dollars ... it isn't the cheapest parking lot, but you do save a few bucks if you don't plan parking your car there for a lengthy amount of time ($3 for the 1st hour .... ~$30 for 12 hours or more). Parking in SF does not come cheap, so these rates can be expected in the area. Lastly, the location is great .. especially for shopping. We didn't shop much .. more of a sight seeing and wine country visit. This hotel would be convenient for someone who plans to help boost the economy and do some damage in the shops!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2009

The hotel provided copies of Esquire magazine and an iPod alarm clock, but was going to charge nearly $20 a day for internet service. Also, a coffee brewer with "complimentary" coffe pods was tucked into the mini bar. However, at check-in I was told that the mini bar was equipped with a motion detector and I would be charged for anything that was moved-I didn't even want to try to get the coffee maker out. Overall, practical considerations just didn't seem to be there, such as being able to use free internet or turn the shower on without getting doused in cold water. I guess it just depends what you are looking for in a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SciTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

The hotel is very comfortable, clean, and trendy. The location is awesome, near all the commercial center (Union Square), 5-minute walk. The holtels extra-services like internet and parking are ridiculously pricey. Parking costs $52, and 2 blocks from there, there is a parking lot which costs $32 (Fifth and Mision Garage). The room is very good, the bed is very comfortable. Very good choice!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauricioEstevao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

- built in 2008
- near downtown SF
- Great buffet breakfast but include this option when you book the hotel or it's quite expensive
- great beds and pillows
- showers are large and excellent
- fitness center is the best. They even provide free snacks
- very friendly people
- internet access is not free
- lots of very fast elevators
- in room Timothy coffee

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aalguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband and I along with our dog took a "California Staycation" at the Intercontinental and had a great time. I am extremely picky and I could not find anything wrong with this place. The room was spotless (no dust anywhere), the bed was dreamy (fluffy pillows, down comforter) and the bathroom was large with a marble sink. In our package we received free valet parking ($50 value), free buffet breakfast ($60 value) and $10 gas card for about $160 a night (with taxes and all the fees).

The staff was wonderful and we had a great time. We will definitely stay at another Intercontinental hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moviegirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on our first visit to sf. We were initially allocated a room on the 15th floor but the view was nothing great so decided to pay $100 pn for an upgrade to a better room. The actual room we upgraded to had a much better view (32nd floor!) although ironically the room was smaller!!!! The upgrade also allowed us to use the 'executive' facilities on the lower 6th floor - continental breakfast which was really good and evening drinks/canapes. Unfortunately the 3rd morning it felt more like a kids club rather than an executive club and has very limited capacity.
The staff at this hotel were all very friendly and the rooms pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonrockboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,214 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,243 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
5,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,686 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,215 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing