We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay in a LONG time!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #34 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 2, 2009

From the moment of arrival, every staff member acknowledged us and made us feel welcome. The hotel is very modern and in a great, convenient location. Check in was a breeze. We had a great view in a Queen bed room on the 27th floor. The room was on the small side, but as a couple, we didn't need any more space. There was a huge wall-mounted plasma tv, which was great for watching a movie at the end of the night. We were able to get an in-room movie that was a movie that is still in the theaters. It was great!

The shower was really big and the bathroom was immaculate. The bedding was luxurious, and the "do not disturb" switch at the door was particularly convenient. Overall, this was one of the best hotel stays that I have had in a long time. The concierge was particularly helpful by providing us direction on where to eat near the hotel and providing packing tape and a marker for the box of wine we were taking home. I got a great deal on this room on H*otwire, but after staying here, I would be willing to pay the regular rate.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,976)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,514 - 2,520 of 2,976 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed here one night as we were in town to hear the San Francisco Symphony. Interesting urban area with many restaurants, diners, etc close by. Short walk to BART and Union Square. Located in the SOMA, the neighborhood has its share of interesting inhabitants, but we never felt unsafe. Wonderful room on the 28th floor. There are other options in the neighborhood for breakfast, such as Mel's Diner on 4th & Mission. Or, indulge yourself with room service... Staff was attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night. It's new, the rooms are nice, the view is OK. It's very modern style, so I would not call it cozy. Price is pretty high too. Nice business center. The reception area provides free iced tea. Parking is crazy expensive. Location is just great, nice area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Having read all the prior reviews i imagined this would be a hotel in the middle of the business district a long way from the sites of San Francisco, with limited appeal. Actually this is in a great location, 300 yards from the heart of the central shopping areas, 300 yards from the main tram line and a yet not noisey at night. Compared to the hotels down by the wharf (Blackpool on a Sunny Day) this is a great base to ensure you see the rest of the City. Although very expesive at the hotel bar ($20 for 2 drinks). I would recommend the saloon on Powell street just before Union square for $2.95 Margaritas, the cheapest bar in town and right in the middle of the restaurant areas. Lefty O'Doulls on Geary Street is also a great place for a cheap lunch with a nice pint. The concierge in the hotel are exceptionally knowledgable and helpful and we made ful use of them. The breakfast at $28 is unreasonable, but Little Joes restaurant 200 yards away on 5th street has all you can imagine for a third of the cost.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

What I really liked in this hotel was that it was a brand new one. Great lobby, great spacious double room and very nice view from the wide windows of the 21 floor, especially at night. The rooms were always clean.We had the chance to get a very nice price since we booked at least 4 months in advance (189$).The only thing that really bothers is that the internet was not free. quite convenient location, close to cable car, shopping malls, moma etc, but anyway transportation in san francisco is very easy no matter where you stay. However I must say that during my long honeymoon trip in the states, I liked more smaller and more "warm" and "friendly" hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nataliamaridaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I stayed at the Intercontinental in San Francisco for 2 nights on business. The hotel is about a year old and very modern. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. There was a huge flat screen TV which was great. With floor to ceiling windows, there's a nice view. The bathroom was big with a large glass enclosed shower with good water pressure (14th floor). There was a bathroom scale and this is the first time I have ever seen one in a hotel. The food in the hotel was ok but the breakfast buffet is very expensive, about $40. I took a cab to Fisherman's wharf for $12 and it was well worth the trip. There is lots to see and do. Great restaurants too. You can see Alcatraz from the dock and there is a ferry that takes you there for a tour. It costs $26 and is a great tour with audio headsets in every language. I wish the hotel was closer to the wharf, because with limited time, I couldn't see everything.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank saturncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Hold on to your pocketbook. While the rooms here are adequate and the views outstanding, I was shocked at the level of pilfering that starts when you walk in the door. $14.95 for an internet hookup in the room? It only starts there. When we went downstairs where my company had booked a meeting room....the price for internet access was $80 plus a fee to turn the service on. A polycom phone. More than $300! A projector? Let's just say it was cheaper for us to go buy our own. No kidding, that's what we did. Add the indifferent service and you've got a promise that my company will never do business here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ed-Bogus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,279 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,323 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
5,521 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,769 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $195 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing