We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a San Franciscan Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a San Franciscan Hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Most of us who visit the city do so because we thrive on its colorful and quirky character found there. The Intercontinental is color and atmosphere neutral. Being void of character makes it less then memorable. Beyond the neutral look it is a first class hotel that will probably meet all of your needs. Parking is pricey, but again this is San Francisco. Brunch was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 8th floor. As for a room that does not face another building within a block
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear William K,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    974
    292
    97
    69
See reviews for
500
887
198
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a typical Intercontinental with guys on the door, over friendly staf at reception, nice bar, nice (even for Europeans) breakfast buffet, obvious spacious room and bathrooms and clean. If you are used to asian hospitality then this hotel is like fast majority of the hotels is the bay little outdated but its welI maintained. Normally i would give a 4 but mow a three as the head waiter at breakfast was without manners: disturbing my guests while talking and insisting on an answer even when I expressed my frustration, asking my business guests while speaking. Interrupting that we cam go to the buffet: We know were next to it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NeonLeonNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear NeonLeonNL,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our guest rooms, friendly staff, Bar 888 and our breakfast buffet at Luce. I apologize that you experienced less than spectacular service during breakfast. I have passed your comments along to our restaurant manager to review. We hope you'll stay with us again during your next trip to San Francisco and allow us to give you a truly InterContinental experience.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I come to San Francisco for conventions at Moscone Center. I used to stay up the hill, but lately have been staying at the Intercontinental, as it is only 5 minutes from the front door of Moscone Center
It is also within just a few minutes of Market street and Westfield Shopping Center.
The lobby is roomy, the bar is nice and comfortable and great to meet with friends or colleagues. The restaurant Luce is adjacent. I only had breakfast there, but it was excellent.
My room was on the 23rd floor and was comfortable. It wasn't spectacular, just roomy and clean.
I also did not visit the fitness center, so I cannot speak to that facility or the pool.
If you can get your conference to pay for the Wi-Fi do it, as the Intercontinental still has the antiquated policy of charging hotel guests $13.95 a day for internet use.

Room Tip: The higher the better! You will have a wonderful view no matter what side of the hotel you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Elaine197,

Thank you for leaving such a great review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location so convenient for your convention. We also glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast at Luce and Bar 888. We are proud to say that all IHG Rewards Club members do receive complimentary WiFi and hope you take advantage of this great feature and sign up. We look forward to your next visit and hope it will be before next year's conference.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed here recently for a conference for four nights. The hotel is clean and well kept. It's in a good location and close to shops and restaurants. It's walking distance to the pier and AT&T stadium for the Giants game. Check in was easy. I had a problem checking out. The hotel bill showed I had used the minibar for a bottled water. I argued that I didn't since I had bought several bottled water from Target on the day of arrival and still had leftovers. I bought Arrowhead and the minibar was Evian--don't look alike. Why would I use the minibar for water when I already had my own? I had to give up since the check out person wouldn't remove it from my bill--$8.70!

Tip: Sign up for Priority Club for free and your internet is free.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooknsew105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Cooknsew105,

Thank you for writing this review of your stay. While we are very happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel, check in and location we are disappointed to learn of the issue with your bill. We would like to speak with you further about this and hope you contact our Guest Relations Manager, Hizkia Larranaga at hizkia.larranaga@ihg.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Everything was nice. The gym is just a little bit too basic. The Rooms are very big and the beds very comfortable. Service is excellent as well. I haven't been to the restaurant but breakfast is quite expensive. Wi-Fi is indeed costly but it was paid by the conference. At that time, there were btw many conferences going on, it s a good spot for business trips to SF.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fabian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Fabian F,

Thank you for leaving this great review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our comfortable guest rooms and great service. We are proud that all of our IHG Rewards Club members do enjoy complimentary WiFi and hope you take advantage of this great amenity and sign up. We hope to see you again soon to enjoy another stay.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I last stayed here in 2010, and it's starting to show its age now. The decor is looking a bit tired and could do with a bit of a spruce up. The biggest problem for me was the doors. Why can hotels not work out how to close a door without it needing to slam shut?

Whilst I was upgraded due to my Platinum Ambassador status, the corner room had some rubbish left in it and some dirty marks above the bed. Could do with a little more attention to detail. I reported another issue and was left to feel they they just blamed me for it. Only on a third attempt to a manager did they appear to listen.

On checkout, my card was just charged without me seeing the bill. It was wrong and they then had to amend it. My credit card then had two charges on it, as it took a week for the reversal to show up.

It's a nice enough hotel, but with all the convention business they get, I wonder if they really care about the leisure traveller.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chistery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Christery,

I apologize for issues you experienced with your most recent stay. We do value all our guests feedback and would like the opportunity to speak with you further. We hope you will contact our Guest Services Manager, Hizkia Larranaga at hizkia.larranaga@ihg.com at your earliest convenience. We look forward to connecting with you soon and discussing your stay.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Level Contributor
803 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Cannot say enough about the wonderful concierge---Bill and his colleagues. I needed a rental car for the day and he arranged everything, over the phone (I called 2 days before my arrival at the hotel). The car arrived on time and I was notified. The concierge on duty gave me explicit printed directions to my destination and then to the hotel where I needed to return the car. I travel a great deal and these folks were truly attentive to all details regarding my "side trip" out of the city. The rooms are lovely and the facilities very good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Dermgoddess,

Thank you for leaving such a great review of your stay. We're so glad that Bill and the Concierge team were able to make your stay extra special. We always strive to go the "extra mile" for our guests and love to hear when our guests enjoy themselves. We look forward to your next trip to San Francisco and we'll get ready for the next side trip you take.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,099 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,072 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
4,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,540 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
829 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing