We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel! Service good be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
514 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A very good hotel! Service good be better.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Intercontinental is an excellent hotel in the south district of San Francisco. Conveniently located for those doing business in this area and steps away from the convention center. The rooms are new and spacious, all very functional. The in-room dinning is good and pretty fast with good variety in the menu. One down point is the service at the front desk. Every time I needed their assistance, starting in the check-in they lacked courtesy and effectiveness to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilAca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear BrazilAca,

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed our in room dining, guest rooms and central location. We hope to make all aspects of our guests stay memorable and are very sorry to hear of the obstacles you experienced with our front desk. We would like to speak with you further about this and hope you will contact our Guest Service Manager, Hizkia Larranaga at hizkia.larranaga@ihg.com at your earliest convenience.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    974
    292
    97
    69
See reviews for
500
887
198
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Centrally located next to the Mascon Convention center. Good spacious rooms and toilets. Good homely ambience. Very friendly and co-operative staff. Breakfast was average and needs variety and improvement. Close to good eateries and entertainment. Management was kind enough to provide cookies and coffee at the reception when the systems were done. Something that they should do at all times, it will bring them a lot of good will.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear luckyikon,

We're very happy you stayed with us and thought our rooms were spacious and enjoyed all the eateries and entertainment nearby! Thank you for you review.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Going to a convention, great. Looking for a romantic getaway, this is probably not the place.

Contemporary and sleek. Overall well run. We're professionals in our 50's and we're warned about our radio being too loud. Not only were we warned but we were reminded about their hotel 'policy' that if a second warning were necessary we would have to leave. Not only has this NEVER happened to us before but the disrespect we were shown really soured our stay. Evidently sound transmission is poor between adjoining rooms.

Talking with the manger yielded no results or apologies...this is how they do business!

We will not be back...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveandBrenda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear SteveandBrenda777,

Thank you for leaving your feedback of your recent stay. We are sorry our hotel did not provide consistent excellent service and left you with a sour impression of our hotel. We would like to speak with you further about this incident and hope you will contact our Guest Services Manager, Hizkia Larranaga, at hizkia.larranaga@ihg.com at your earliest convenience.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

In planning our honeymoon my husband and I spoke to the concierge at the Intercontinental Miami, Mr. Botero, to get ideas for hotels in the San Francisco area. He recommended the Intercontinental Hotel on Howard Street. He made the reservations for us and when we arrived they were waiting for us with a bottle of champagne and a hand written note welcoming us and congratulating us on our marriage! The room had floor to ceiling windows that wrapped all the way around the entire corner suite. The view was incredible. The hotel is very centrally located with plenty of attractions within walking distance. You can walk to the trolley that takes you to Chinatown and the Yerba Buena park is around the corner. There are lots of little restaurants surrounding the hotel and the piers are 5 minutes away. Mr. Botero also helped us rent a motorcycle to do our site seeing on and referred us to the Lark Creak Steakhouse where I had the best steak I have ever had in my life. (Unfortunately they only have them in California) :(
Overall we had a terrific stay and could not have asked for anything better. The rate was great, the service was great and the location was perfect. Definitely recommend it if you are in San Francisco!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a top floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Dalia G,

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. We are so happy to hear your honeymoon was a wonderful experience and hope to welcome you back year after year.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location and the staff was friendly and accommodating. If the prices were slightly lower on the things mentioned below, I would add at least one additional star.

Wifi $15/day.
Hotel Parking $59/day. What?
Breakfast at the hotel $30/person for the buffet. Definitely NOT worth it.

You can save yourself some money by parking in the garage directly behind the hotel for $32/day. You will save even more if you are gone most of the day.

There is also a Target within walking distance where you can buy water and other stuff instead of paying the exorbitant mini-bar prices.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bobcat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Bobcat9,

We appreciate your leaving this review of your stay and we're happy to hear you found our location convenient and our staff friendly and accommodating. We are happy to announce that starting in 2014 all IHG Rewards Club Members will benefit from complimentary WiFi and we hope you take advantage of this great feature. Parking in downtown San Francisco is at a premium as it is with large cities and we do keep our parking costs in line with other hotels in the area. I'm sorry you did not enjoy our buffet breakfast and we hope you will consider staying with us again to allow us to wow you with a truly InterContinental experience.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Revisited this hotel after a less than stellar visit in 2011. The service has improved significantly and the room had no issues whatsoever. Upgraded to a junior suite which was well appointed and functional. The club lounge amenities were acceptable for the rate paid (not Ritz Carlton club level, but also not the cost).
Overall, very pleased with the improvement and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardio-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Cardio-2

Thank you for giving us a second try to give you an InterContinental experience. We're so glad we were able to change your mind with our service and amenities.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in October 2013.

One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. Floor to ceiling windows, great views of the city from the 20th floor. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was really nice, great shower. The staff was really nice with checking-in and out.

The location is great, only 2 blocks from the Muni and Bart station (less than 5 min walk), right by the mall. Union square is only a couple blocks past that. And if anything is further the taxi isn't much.

The only complaint was the with a west facing room and all those windows the room got really hot and the AC didn't keep up. We had to keep the curtains closed for the hottest part of the day and really crank the AC to get it comfortable to sleep at night.

We booked the hotel the day of and it was cheaper than any of the comparable hotels and way nicer than the comparables too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Ben R,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay. We love that you enjoyed our lovely views, updated bathrooms and great location!

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,100 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,075 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,547 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
829 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing