We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice option in the heart of San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nuevo, CA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very nice option in the heart of San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was my first time at an Intercontinental hotel. I felt welcome from the time I was greated at the door. The check in process was quick and easy and the desk staff were very friendly. The room was spacious, the bed was plush, and the bath towels were definately the largest and softest I have ever experienced in a hotel. I can say that I am a fan of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    963
    287
    95
    66
See reviews for
492
877
192
946
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights for business and pleasure and was delighted each evening to return to a comfortable and airy room with modern amenities and a very comfortable bed. The corner room was especially nice with lots of windows and light that could be fully darkened as well. Staff was uniformly courteous and accommodating, in particular the concierge who made a special effort to provide the NY Times daily upon my request. The food at the meetings was really terrific - lots of fresh and healthy choices, good variety, tasty and enjoyable. The hotel boasts a 'green' rating which did not diminish the quality of the stay in any way. My only minor complaint is I find the lobby and entry relatively unappealing - long and narrow and not inviting, but fortunately this had no impact on the quality of the stay.

Room Tip: The corner room was especially light and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hepadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Randomly booked this hotel using Hotwire but I was very pleased.
Clean, modern and pleasant staff.
The location seems a bit out of the way but everything is walkable and there are some interesting restaurants and bars to discover in the SOMA area.
Only gripe was the cost of the drinks and food at the bar. There is a Michelin starred restaurant must drive up the prices but it seemed a little excessive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have stayed here several times. It is still a winner. Quiet room, very comfortable bed, spacious clean bathroom, large flat screen TV, very good service. As soon as we approached the check in desk they informed us that they were upgrading us due to my husband's hotel points. We were on the 33rd floor - great views. The only negative was going down in the elevator - lots of stops for people getting on. We like the location as we can walk to Chinatown or Union Square. We also took cabs a lot. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for high up floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Loved my stay at this sophisticated hotel last week for company meetings. Not only was the hotel a fantastic property with lovely rooms, comfortable beds, and friendly service, but the conference and meeting rooms were exceptional. Every room we entered had windows which is a huge help during hour 8 of meetings, but most notably the food provided by catering was incredible! I've never had such fresh and tasty options so consistently delivered day after day at a conference before. And morning buffet breakfast in the hotel cafe was on par with catering as well. I would highly recommend this property for business travel, and especially for business events.
To ice the cake, I'd love to see a Starbucks (or similar coffee shop) in the lobby as the nearest one was a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay last week at the intercontinental San Francisco. The rooms were great with plenty of storage. We loved the fact that the hotel is "green". The only Eco friendly hotel in San Francisco and they take pride in that. Great location and great service from room service, grappa bar, and concierge. The only problem we encountered by the cab drivers. They drove erratic and insane, one was worse than the next.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferS586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel 3 times and we have loved it so far. The staff is very helpful and kind. The rooms are clean, bathrooms and the beds are comfortable. They're were some problems with the housekeeping. They didn't put us enough towels, bathrobes, or coffee. But, that was a minor problem. Other than that they did a very good job. The pool was very nice and so was the jacuzzi. I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor for a nice view of the city and choose a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twocrazycats62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#29 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,916 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,420 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing