We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location in downtown area with great service at the awesome city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 5 days 4 nights. The room and food were good. Very helpful service from the concierge, front desk, bellmen and housekeeping personnels in particularly for taxi reservation, where to go, and what to do at night. Strategic location in the down town, even though the neighborhood few blocks there wasn't that good.

It's just the not-so-big lobby making it full with people coming in and out. And the open bar is too small for chilling out.

Room Tip: Those choose room with street view might consider their choice due to street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goudotmobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,965)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 2,965 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I confess, I am a light sleeper. So to get right to the point, my stay was marred by the fact that the room I was in on the 11th floor was not well insulated from street noise (? a bar with loud music that ran till 430 AM). A call to the front desk of course got me now where. What could they do?Lying awake listening to bad music could mar any hotel room to be sure.
Otherwise, the staff were attentive, the hotel immaculately clean, the room spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougiedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear dougiedd,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel staff and room accommodations. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guest. Please accept our sincere apologies about the noise, we try our best to ensure all guests have an undisturbed sleep. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at Intercontinental 1 week ago for 3 days 2 nights. Slightly obscure entrance on the corner and very hectic lobby full with people coming and going. Rooms were spacious and clean. Concierge on duty were extermely helpful in suggesting where to go for dinner and areas to avoid. Locationwise was good but wish it was slightly nearer to Union Square. Other than that, had a fantastic stay and wish it was longer

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location. Were here for one night at the end of a California trip. The front desk guy (JD) could not have been more helpful with a map, advice on walking to the ballpark for the Giants game, etc. The remainder of the staff - parking, bellmen, housekeeping, doormen - were similarly friendly and - this makes all the difference - seemed to genuinely enjoy their jobs and wanted to make sure you had a good time in San Francisco. Refreshing.

Decor was modern and stylish; room was spacious; view of the city and bay was beautiful. I know it makes money for them but I do hate paying for internet; that's really the only negative thing I could say.

I'd stay here again in a second. This is how a big city hotel should run.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinasNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for six nights in mid June. The hotel is located across from the Moscone Convention Centre. Everything is within walking distances; stores, movie theatres, restaurants and more. The staff, from JD at the front desk who found us a beautiful room on the 30th floor, to Bill Stanton, Chef de Concierge, went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Bill greeted me by name every time I walked by the desk. The housekeeper noticed that I brought some of my own tea bags and she left extra Kuerig tea cups for me.The only negative is there was no free WIFI. It was available for $14.95/day. If you buy a cup of coffee in the restaurant, you can get a PIN for 3 hours free usage. Around the corner are restaurants and a Cineplex with free WIFI.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0ntreal_M0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSF-Management, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of the InterContinental San Francisco and for staying with us.

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience and that our staff provided excellent service.

I will make sure to share your kind words with JD, Bill and the rest of the Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back and creating more memorable experiences.

Kind Regards,

Bryan Del Toro
Area Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Hotel is placed very close to the union Square and starting of the cable car, can get to all places by taking the Muni at Market Street (buses and trams) 7days ticket $28 which includes cable cars you clear that payment in one day.

The Hotel was good and clean, We found all the staff helpful and courteous and always passing the time of day with you and at the same time not being intrusive.

I booked the room through a well known Internet booking company, and a couple of days to go checking the inventory and looking at the Hotels rooms could not put my booking to the Corner room I had purchased, I emailed the Hotel and asked for conformation they emailed back and said it was not the room I thought I had booked but they said they had upgraded me to this room, What great customer relations .

I did mention to concierge that the United Kingdom 'Union Flag' was being flown upside down, knowing how patriotic they were to their own flag, they said that they would contact the person concerned immediately but a week later it was still upside down. Just in case they check this review the right way up is:- broad white stripes to the mast and uppermost . (even in UK people fly it upside down because they cannot see any difference)

Room Tip: High up and a corner room, 20 floors up really has great views. Did not rate children's facilit...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrattenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Two night here after staying at The Fairmont, which I love. This is a very modern business hotel. There are no frills, but great views from the 30th floor and the rooms are clean. The hallways are tall and loud so you know when anyone on your floor is coming in or going out. This a green property so everything is tied to protecting the environment which is good. One restaurant which is over priced and you will leave hungry except after breakfast which is good. Typical rooms running around 199 a night next to convention center. There is nothing nearby but a large mall and more choices for food on a casual scale. Plenty of drawers, closet space and work space.

Room Tip: High floor helps
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colonelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear colonelscott,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
1,266 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,310 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
5,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
3,278 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $198 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing