We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our first visit to SF, and we only picked this because John was on a conference. However, we were delighted by the standard of the hotel, and our room. Great views, really comfortable room, and we had access to the club lounge. Staff here could not have done more to help. Really friendly and knowledgeable. It sounds expensive when you book, but the buffet breakfast is good and very convenient start to the day, and a comfortable quiet lounge to relax in is invaluable. Very surprised when we arrived. There was super tight security. It turned out that President Obama was staying there as well. So we must have made the right choice if he approves of it. Bit of a shame though. We didn't get the chance to say hi.
Have also to add that the restaurant is superb. One of the best meals ever. Really delicious food, and very nice staff. Rather noisy, but we managed. Would certainly stay here again

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,637 - 1,643 of 3,059 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed for a business meeting held at the Moscone Center. Lots of other hotels in the area within walking distance. I would pick this hotel and stay here again because of the service. It costs extra to stay on the club floor (access restricted, five food presentations) and it was well worth it.
Every person on staff was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The food presentations were plentiful and delicious.
The fitness center was well equipped including a lap pool at the correct temperature, and a jacuzzi. There is also a spa.

They have airport car service, (approx $45.00) or you can catch BART train close by for $8.00

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicafromMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights before embarking on our road tour of Northern California. The room was pleasant, and of a decent size. Nice big beds. The staff were efficient and the service fine. Very nice overall.

Room Tip: The higher , the better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

No surprises. Oustanding hotel as would expect from Intercontinental. Excellent service. Excellent location. I was able to easily walk to the ATT Park to see a San Fransisco Giant game in less than 10 minutes. Adjacent to the Moscone convention center where meeting was held so easily able to get back to room if needed in that area. Also is only a couple of blocks from the Powell street cablecar and Union Square region that can be easily walked to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenW344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel was very nice but for the $$ you might expect a bit more. Depending upon the location of your room you might here frequent fire engines (as we did) but on the positive side the location is close to all types of restaurants. Shockingly the price for a pot (although we only wanted a cup) from room service was $11!! Wow.

Room Tip: Face the Moscone Center since on the other side they are doing construction and there must be a loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a great hotel. Clean, easy to get around, Very nice restaurant and bar. The rooms are roomie and very clean. The bathrooms are large and roomie--one drawback--and I have to add this---water pressure---really crummy.

My company had a meeting in one of the meeting rooms--for a small meeting--great, but for an event with presentations---skip this place--the low ceilings make for really poor AV opportunity. I am afraid the money we spent recording the event--will be wasted.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChazDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I joined a group of girls that were meeting in the city and we decided to stay at the InterContinental San Francisco. The property was tastefully decorated for the holidays and the lobby staff greeted us with smiles at each encounter. The lobby was beautiful and the rooms were tastefully and luxuriously composed. The bathroom was generously sized. The room had two queen beds with a desk and chair. A chair, side table and lamp were in another corner and a dresser credenza held the TV.The beds had crisp, clean linens and, fluffy comforters and pillows.

I did find that the two queen room felt quite small. The lobby also seemed cut in half by the bar. area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMears11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,786 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
6,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,415 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,539 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $200 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing