We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Awesome staff, amazing view of SF and great spot to be near all the locations. The valet was fast and courteous. Definitely worth staying here. The breakfast buffet is solid. Nice quality food. The bar was not too loud and still had a nice vibe to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    970
    291
    96
    68
See reviews for
494
882
196
959
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a 2-day symposium.
During my stay i got a package. On checkout i was very surprised to see 11$ charge (before tax) on "package handling", which basically included delivering the package to my room via the elevator... I wasn't even notified in advance - i could choose if i want to take it with me on the elevator. I stayed in many hotels around the world. Even the least expensive ones did not charge me for arriving packages !
Paying so much for a stay and not getting a minimal service - this is extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank refaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear refaela S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize we feel short of your expectations this particular day. We do value the comments we receive from our guests as these help us improve the quality and service that we offer.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neufeld an der Leitha, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

when arriving in san francisco after 14 hours of driving, welcome was not too good, room nice but the view was not nice at all. location is great, there is a public parking just 2 min away but not everybody seems aware about it. on the other hand the head of concierge service Will is the biggest and nicest help one could imagine. He helped us to get the tickets for Alcatraz although completely sold out and thanks to him we had the very nice tour through SF with urban safari tour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eja1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for several days, and loved this hotel in this great city. The staff is so helpful and warm. Our room was fantastic, very modern yet also very comfortable. It is a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Get one of the corner rooms on the upper floors. There you get floor to ceiling windows on two side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip.

The good bits;
Our view overlooking the bay was AMAZING! We were on the 21st floor.
The room was huge, lovely and spacious with two queen beds.
The room was decorated to a really high standard, very modern with all to comforts you would want.
The hotel is located right in the city centre, and in walking distance to everything.

The bad bits;
As with all chain hotels, there was little character and we could have been anywhere in the world once inside.
Room service and the mini bar is EXPENSIVE! Buy drinks from the local 7eleven.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location is great, and the rooms are comfortable, extremely clean and modern. The staff are professional and polite.I am a returning guest now, so this time I could investigate the hotel from another point of view to find out that actually services are a bit pricey and the rates are expensive. 8 USD for a bottle of water which should be basically complimentary, 15 USD/day for internet added to the 300 USD room rate on the bill. But still,You get what you pay for. This time I gave Luce the restaurant a try to find that food quality is excellent but the quantity is not fulfilling. Overall, the rating of 4 is reasonable for this facility. I liked Omni a bit better except for the location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here with 4 other business partners for a conference. The rooms were nice, clean & cared for, as should be expected from a hotel of this caliber. We were all impressed with the level of service we received from ALL the staff , example, we met the maintenance man in the hall one afternoon & after greeting us he stopped and sincerely asked if everything was ok with our rooms (yes) & was there anything else he might help us with? The maintenance man!! We also added the Club Room option to our stay and can't say enough about the wait staff there, the breakfasts in the morning, the evening top shelf bar drinks, the food & the evening deserts (all included in the Club Fee) were worth the little extra a night you pay!! The staff in the Club go out of thier way to make you feel special & we did. We left a presentation table cloth at home so were in need of a large white cloth for our display & couldn't find one anywhere in town; when told of our problem the conceirge called the banquet manager who immediately LOANED us a beautiful table cloth for 3 days!! We offered to pay a rental fee or a cleaning charge but they wouldn't hear of it. Overall, this was a wonderful stay, the best service I've had in a long long time!! Our new home away from home when we're visiting San Fransisco!!

Room Tip: lots of stuff to do very close by, the restaurant & the drinks in the bar are very expensive but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,025 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing