We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice Hotel For Our First San Francisco Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #26 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel For Our First San Francisco Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our quick short stay in San Francisco this past September.

We were very pleased with the room we got. Very spacious. I am still surprised by the fact that most upper scale hotels charge you for their internet usage. You would think by now they would just include it in the price.

The bar was really nice, sampled a few of their specialty cocktails. The food that was served at the bar excellent as well as the breakfast buffet.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again, but maybe not on my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    892
    263
    87
    61
See reviews for
449
830
186
866
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here several days for a work related conference. Could not have been happier with the quality of service, front desk, room service & concierge. Great location as well! Highly recommend the Intercontintal for your stay in San Francisco!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfuller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel, average location (Very good if you're at the Moscone conference center).
Rooms are immaculate but the design is average, not something you would post on Facebook. What bothered me the most were extra charges for Wifi, breakfast etc. For such an expensive hotel it really bothered me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BardurOrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear BardurOrn,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
326 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After years of staying in some crampted accomodations in San Francisco, it was a pleasure to find the new Intercontinental in Soma. It is convenient to the Soma Museum, Moscone Convention Center, and the Westfield Center Mall, the movie theaters, and other points of interest. My room was large, modern, quiet, and the hotel had a nice gym and restaurant. The staff was accomodating cheereful and helpful. What a find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antionio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leftcoast
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is next to the Moscone Center and is three block from the BART station which makes it easy from the airport at rush hour. The hotel has terrific views for the upper floors with less street noise. Rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast is very complete but a bit on the pricy side. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floor have great views and less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frqentravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
479 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I arrived in San Francisco from London on Thursday evening and were given a room on the 27th Floor which was excellent. We have a view of the city and the bay and both the room and the bath room were clean and very well maintained. The hotel is not cheap with prices of $300 per night. However at that price you would expect certain things to be included such as Internet connection and access to phone lines with credit card or phone card being free. Not here at all the charge is almost $15 per day for the internet and any phone call local or via card is charged at $1-50c per call. In my view two very unnecessary charges when looking at the cost anyway. The Spa is great but the pool was closed with access to another pool in another hotel which is a bit of a bind.
So my advice to the ICH hotel is to stop charging for every single thing and include things which really should be FOC in this day and age. If not my advice to anyone is walk a couple of hundred yards to one of the many Strabucks, Mels diner, etc where the internet is free and by the way is quicker than that offered with charges by the hotel.

Room Tip: Anything above the 10th floor gives and excellent view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I went for my gift to myself over Thanksgiving. I wasn't interested in the turkey dinner (which was a bargain) so next year I'll come either just before, or after thanksgiving.

This hotel has the nicest service I've ever experienced anywhere. I truly was treated like royalty. The rooms are a gadget lovers' dream come true. But you must save your money for the gourmet level food. It is a bit expensive, but SO WORTH IT!

I am almost blind and needed help with the TV to find and watch a first-run movie. I figured I'd get the usual ...not enough staff..., but they sent up the technology person who spent over 20 minutes assisting me to find a movie!

This hotel is very gentile, quiet and soothing. Just perfect. this year I'm saving up for a 2-night trip.

Room Tip: Winter is their slow time, best rates when you order online and prepay, about a month before you pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s13cybergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,415 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,415 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#33 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#31 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing