We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel close to main attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #35 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel close to main attractions”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very tall glass hotel. As soon as you enter the building, your expectations become higher.
Lobby area is quite big and concierge service was excellent.
Check in was not very quick, but we were apologized many times for this. High speed elevators make you feel flying.
Room is big enough and comfortable. Bathroom is standard. View even from 26th floor is not very fantastic. No bridges, no nice buildings, just sea with ships and construction sites in front of the hotel.
Staff tries to help always and with smile.
Hotel's parking is expensive (60 usd/day). In a five minute walking distance, there are three more alternatives.
Internet should be free in the rooms. It should not be counted as revenue generating any more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    988
    296
    100
    72
See reviews for
514
897
200
968
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We Finns stayed 4 nights with two kids (12 and 13) around the New Year 2012/13 and it was great. Good location - only 2 blogs away from the actual main street. Rooms were clean and simple. Two king size beds were comfortable. Service from concierge was absolutely great: we rent a car right from the lobby and pick it up from the front door and left it there too, got last minute dinner reservations done for the New Year eve. We also liked the breakfast buffet with different kind of choices. Service at the restaurant was really good and they also served kids as real customers. The only negative thing at the hotel was that WiFi was not free.

Hotel's Leed Gold certificate was plus for our choice - read more about environmental issues: http://www.intercontinentalsanfrancisco.com.customers.tigertech.net/green/index.htm

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

From the time we got there to the time we left we felt welcomed and most all of the employees of the hotel were very nice and attentive, even a few remembered our names. The view from our room was spectacular. We would have loved to stay there more than one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Small to moderate-size room with upscale, neutral décor; nice room for business – lots of electrical outlets, desk space, etc. Small to moderate-size room. Great location for events at the Moscone Center. Extremely convenient to BART (Powell St. Station) and MUNI – hint: walk through the center parking alley, then through bloomingdale’s into Westfield Mall for easy BART/MUNI station access. The staff was well trained to smile, greet, and have pleasant exchanges with guests at every turn. The salinated lap pool is a real two lane lap pool with a lap line on the bottom; however, it’s a little shy of 75 yards (maybe 65?). The bathroom was spacious, and had nice, thick white bath sheets; great shower. I would give this property a rating of five, except for the fact that they charge $14.95/day for WIFI – I strongly feel that high-end properties should not nickel-and-dime you for a basic necessity in this day and age.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erdocmdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at this Intercon over the period 2 to 5 Jan 2013. It's a good hotel in terms of location and comfort and on the deal we had good value and I'd stay there again. After our stay I got an e mail asking me to rate them and provide any comments for posting. My comment was the hotel is good but the negatives were the cost of in room movies at $18, the cost of the daily Internet at $15 and the lack of a hotspot in the lobby. I said Internet services should be free and treated like the provision of towels in a room, not as a profit centre. I then got an e mail back saying they wouldn't post my comment as it was inappropriate, seems stupid to ask only for comment that is favourable so thank goodness for Trip Advisor which provides an alternative avenue!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Slug012,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you liked our hotel location and it's comfort. We want our guest to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Perfect location for visitors. Close to the mall , and all the public transport, Cable car, Metro, bus.
Considering parking is difficult and expensive, visit without the car.
Although the hotel service is generally good, I found a rude bell boy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsunarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the property for the first time, in January 2013. Despite the fact that the hotel was extremely busy with visitors attending a major conference, the staff maintained the highest levels of professionalism and attentiveness.

Was very pleasantly surprised when the Concierge staff was even able to help -- quickly and very effectively -- with an unusual request I had (one which required shoe repair!). This is definitely well above the standard of service that I've received at other major hotel chains in big US cities, and puts the InterContinental San Francisco on par with super-upscale places like the St. Regis and the Four Seasons.

The hotel also has an excellent restaurant, beautiful public spaces, and decent gym, in addition to excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthEndVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,165 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,180 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,621 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
3,137 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing