We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newark, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“New and Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October 2011. Nice lobby, very upscale with a bar. Friendly staff. Comfy and very roomy rooms. I believe the hotel is only a few years old and it is still very new as compared to alot of the other SF hotels. Big windows.....saw the Blue Angels. Rooms are quiet and cannot hear anyone in hallways or next door. Very nice for business traveler. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I used HotWire to get a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fredrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    963
    287
    95
    66
See reviews for
492
877
192
946
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel was very comfortable and modern. It was ideally located close to some great tourist sights of SF. Located a few blocks south of Market St, it was a lot easier to get to and from the hotel then the ones in down town or union square area. The rooms had a great view of of SF or the bay. The gym was really nice with a variety of equipment. The lap pool is good for a swim or lounging around. The building is LEED certified and their display in the lobby showing the energy consumption was a nice touch. There are other parking structures in the area, but the valet at the hotel is a good deal if you plan on going in and out of the hotel. The hotel staff was knowledgeable, courteous, and overall great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
355 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was our first trip to San Francisco and it was a very positive one staying at the Intercontinental! I like to choose quality hotel brands and would rather pay a little more for superior service and amenities. The rooms were great and the location was also very good. It was not the closest to the sites we wanted to see but it was not a bad walk. Staff were very helpful and respectful, they made sure our stay was a plesant one.

The Intercontinental is mostly known for business travellers but we stayed here on a vacation with some friends and it was a good mix of people and a good crowd in the lounge and bar at the hotel.

I am a firm believer that you pay for what you get most of the time and in this case you do get a quality experience in all aspects of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is a little expensive, but there is an attention to detail here that more than makes up for it. Service is first class - everyone is extremely attentive, which is unusual in upscale hotels in my experience. The bar is a nice experience, but quite expensive. The rooms are roomy and amenities are excellent - the pool and gym are excellent.

Across the street is an Irish bar which has great food, good atmosphere and very good value for money. Two blocks away is the shopping district around Union Square. Next door is the conference centre which can make the hotel quite busy if a big conference is in town. The higher up the better the view, so ask for the highest floor possible, and a great view. SF is a beautiful city and this alone makes it worth while.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was the best hotel staff I have ever seen . Every employee is very helpful and attentive. They were all great but the bellmen were outstanding!

The hotel was clean and modern. I loved everything about the hotel. It is close to Union Square, But it is a bit far from Fishermans Wharf. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We took a long awaited family vacation to the West Coast and our first stop was San Fran, this property was perfect due to a number of reasons, location, location, and location. We used this property as hub for the day trips, and the club was a great place to unwind daily. The lounge staff were very warm, welcoming, and professional despite some of the antics of other guest. I used points for our 3 night in San Fran and paid for the other room for our children (Teenagers). The complimentary upgrade to a suite as an Royal Ambassador totally made the experience. We are making plans to visit again, a real family favorite.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and it is a nice modern business hotel. I generally like staying in a business hotels as I don’t necessarily need to mix with children and tourists.
It’s around 10 minutes walk to the main area which is good as I don’t always like to be right on top of things. The rooms are a nice size and modern. The club lounge is also nice after a day’s shopping to relax and have a glass of wine. It also has a big modern gym. All in all I can’t fault this hotel. It was a good standard.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank leeabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#29 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,916 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,420 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing