We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Traveling in business?? Its not about the views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #25 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traveling in business?? Its not about the views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Its amazing how traveling on business, my requirements change completely. Luxury to me is about practicality, simple, easy check ins and out and getting a good night sleep.
Great deal offered to me by Travesse.com got me the higher rooms, so I did not feel the noise of all the conventions, free wifi and breakfast at a better rate than you can get elsewhere.
Location, perfect - for business
Rates - great for business
Breakfast - fantastic, but VERY expensive (or is that just San Fran?)
Bed - super comfy
Overall, I cannot fault this hotel on anything and would recommend to any business traveler coming to San Fran.

Room Tip: get free upgrades from one of these luxury travel websites - like perfect escapes or travesse.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    883
    258
    85
    60
See reviews for
439
815
184
856
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

When visiting San Francisco it is good to be centrally located. While the INTCON is just south of Union Square, it is still in a great location for most everything. When booking this hotel, I was surprised at how cheap it was. I really did not expect a lot from it based on its price. With a happening bar in the lobby and very comfortable accommodations, it is a great hotel for business or pleasure. We were staying there to see the giants play. I had stayed at the Marriott just a couple of blocks over and the price was almost double. This is not the most amazing hotel, but for me it is a great place if you are in town for one or two nights with other stuff to do besides hang out in bed all day.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cugiemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is a super Hotel with super Staff. Ms Brigette Ramirez Guest Relations Agent is due commendation and significant asset to the Hotel. I requested a high floor room and was given one on the 28th floor with a magnificent view and spotless top class facilities. Big room, seating area at the huge window, desk work area, very comfortable King size bed with lots of pillows and high qulity bedsheets, huge TV, and massive ensuite. There are lots of lifts for speedy access up or down. The Bar on the ground floor is excellent. The Breakfast Room on the ground floor is most comfortable being seated and looked after by great Staff. The huge glass of fresh orange juice to start is most welcome and the buffet breakfast choices are a great start to the day. The fitness facilities and pool on the 6th flloor are superb.Reception and Concierge Staff are really up to the job and the Hotel Doorman Ernest Baskin Jr is the best I've ever experienced. The Hotel is superbly placed for local restaurants (try Mel's Diner) and visiting places of interest including a Trip to Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf on the Cable Cars. Out of the Hotel front door turn right and right again at the traffic lights keep on walking and in five minutes you are bang in the middle of the central shopping area. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the InterContinental and havee no hesitation inecommending it - I will be back.

Room Tip: High floor for view over the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onthecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Wow, you would think the staff would be trained on how to answer a question like "where is the pool?". I spoke to three different people about where the pool was, and none knew. The woman in the business office didnt know, and didnt offer to find out, the girl in the gift shop did the same thing, she didnt even know that there was a map less that thirty feet away which wouldve answered my question. The only one with an excuse was another woman who was working her first day there, and she wouldve helped had she not been stationed by a door for security, but she did tell us where the map was. Very unprofessional. Fantastic view though.

Room Tip: Call in advance, you will be directed to someone who you can make your specifications with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

It stands right next to a convention center and easy to walk to subway station, department stores and Union SQ, all in 10 min-walk. Like usual InterCOntinental, everything is neat and good shape. It is a modern building with lots of glasses in and out.

1. Room
Room is clean as well as a bathroom. Desk and chairs are modern and comfortable. There is no window but one side room is glass wall that you can see the city. View was fantastic, specailly at night. With same reason, curtain should be used in daytime for you own personal securities.

2. Lobby
It looks very modern and loud since there are one bar in middle of lobby.

3, Fitness
It has few treadmills and others for cardio-work. I saw some facilities for pilates also. On the other side of fitness room, indoor pool was located, separated by window. Water temp was adjusted for instant dipping. All facilites are well maintained.

The most impression comes from the view from the room cos one side of room is an entire glass wall. Location is excellent also. It was easy for shopping, museums, conference and so on. I felt lack of restaurant in this area though, I might look at wrong direction or area.
Overall, I was very satisfied to stay here for 5 nights and I had a great time here.
I paid $150 total per night and I was happy to stay in SF.

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This hotel is steps away from the convention center. Hotel rooms were very nice and comfortable. Especially loved the bathroom with a seperate walk in shower and tub (not in all rooms) Rooms on the upper floors provide a great view of the city lights at night. Hotel staff was very helpful in answering questions and providing recommendations. Ate breakfast from the buffet a couple of time - nice options. Very close to the Museum of Modern art & Yerba Buena Gardens . Wifi was available at an add on cost. Overall would stay there again for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor and one with a seperate shower/tub is possible. Those bathrooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contempo_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel is newer (less than 5 years old, I believe) and was modern and comfortable. The fitness area was good, and I loved the 2 lane lap pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyOHTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,341 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,313 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#34 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#29 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#37 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing