We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland food, overpriced drinks”
Review of MaSo

MaSo
Ranked #1,263 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Market St
Description: MaSo, Market South Restaurant serves fresh, sustainably sourced California Cuisine. Executive Chef John Hart offers comfort food favorites like tuna tartar, wonton tacos, dungeness crab bon bons, mac n lobster and berkshire pork porterhouse. The sophisticated MaSo charm is reflected not only in the creative menu but also in the retro computer design of the early days of...the Silicon Valley. MaSo Bar, Lounge and Terrace features a relaxed atmosphere to meet and mingle with friends and business associates alike and to enjoy local wines or an innovative fresh cocktail.
Kent
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Bland food, overpriced drinks”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Recently stayed at the Westin in San Francisco and eat at their new Maso restaurant. After sitting down and looking at the menu, we almost got up and went across the street to the California Pizza Kitchen - I wish we had. I had their Kobe Meat Loaf and the portion was huge sitting on top of full plate of some kind of dried out pasta but there was something off with the taste of the meatloaf and I later regretted eating it... The price for drinks was outrageous! I would not eat here again... Very poor service from our waiter....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanFromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    46
    22
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This Restaurant had a great bar which was excellent.
The staff showed excellent service and were friendly.
The Food at Maso was very good and value for money
Would come again if in the location

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining was fantastic”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had some excellent fish and wine. The server was great to speak with and very personable. The location is a bit out of the way but you just have to look a little harder and you'll find it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanttoGetoutMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimLymm
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch in the sun”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Grabbed a quick lunch here one afternoon in late september.
Sat outside under the sun and had great beer and food. One of the best meals of the week.
Fantastic Prawn Caesar Salad

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimLymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“MaSo-So?”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I staid at this Westin on a holiday trip.

Very nice Hotel, excellent front disk, bar service and Concierge.

MaSo for dinner. Excellent lamb and vegetable, as good as in Austrlia and New Zealand.
Also ordered chicken fried mushrooms- big mistake. I got what I ordered as it tasted like greasy, old oil, fried chicken. My mistake but I do think they should take it off a menu of this caliber.
Service did bother me. Waiter distant bus boy on verge of rude. Wait! Am I in NY? MaSo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lacostaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MaSo also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to MaSo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing