We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and tasty”
Review of MaSo

MaSo
Ranked #1,215 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Market St
Description: MaSo, Market South Restaurant serves fresh, sustainably sourced California Cuisine. Executive Chef John Hart offers comfort food favorites like tuna tartar, wonton tacos, dungeness crab bon bons, mac n lobster and berkshire pork porterhouse. The sophisticated MaSo charm is reflected not only in the creative menu but also in the retro computer design of the early days of...the Silicon Valley. MaSo Bar, Lounge and Terrace features a relaxed atmosphere to meet and mingle with friends and business associates alike and to enjoy local wines or an innovative fresh cocktail.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant and tasty”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I liked the outdoor area at the restaurant and the atmosphere at the end of the day with locals popping in for a drink and a snack at happy hour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandrakevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    46
    22
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ducca Delights”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

On a recent business trip to San Francisco, I dined for the second time at Ducca in the Westin Market Street. While the menu was limited, I enjoyed a delicious poached salmon in a light tomato broth. The vegetables in the broth were al dente - not too soft. Paired with a local Chardonnay, the meal was a superb, healthy treat after a run along Embarcadero on a Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The lamb was great and the fish was superb. A bit pricey but it's what you'd expect in San Fran.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rohawks39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,188 reviews
781 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Great at Cocktail hour and Buffet Breakfast”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Hotel on Market St where the Ducca Restaurant is located. We had cocktail in the bar area in the evening and it was lovely. Service is great the room is warm and friendly and it's perfect for the end of the day.
The buffet breakfast was wonderful. The cold foods were the best, very fresh and in abundance, the hot were good with a very nice assortment of things. The breads are numerous so you can count on a little something for everyone.
We did not eat lunch or dinner at the Ducca, but I'm sure it would be good also.
We recommend the Ducca.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service, not the best meal”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I tried the Dine About Town prix fixe with wine pairing. It was a good value, but the salad with greens, pistachios and strawberries was very salty. The beef dish was very rare. They gave me a complimentary glass of wine while I waited for it to be cooked a bit more. The panna cotta didn't have much flavor. The waiter was excellent. No complaints about service. I'd try it again with the full menu.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank savann8h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MaSo also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to MaSo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing