We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Hopwater Distribution
Ranked #130 of 6,497 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Lower Nob Hill
Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

We were tired and hungry and happened in to this great place. Friendly service, great deviled eggs and Cobb salad and excellent beer. The food was fresh and tasty. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 160 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2019

We were trying to go to the Pacific Café but when we called, they were just closing. The owner offered to give us free Clam chowder if we came anyway but it was a ways away by taxi and as we couldn't get a full meal, we declined. We then (searched TA and) walked to HopWater Distribution where we had Fried chicken sandwiches with well done fries (just the way we like them), both excellent and an Arugula salad. I had Napa Loco session ale and my Sweetie had Franciscan, Cabernet Sauvignon. Everything was great.

You have to go to the Bar to order and pick-up your drinks but they can run a Tab and they bring you your food at your table.

The atmosphere was lively for a Wednesday night at about 10:30 PM. It's obviously a popular place and we felt fortunate to have found such a great place. T/A strikes again!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GaryReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

Food was fresh made in kitchen by the cook. He even churns his own butter.
30 types of beer; if you can’t find one you like you must be looking for bourbon.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Gipperland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

They know how to keep their beer.
Outstanding range of interesting regional beers between $6-$8 a glass. Prices are pretty average for SF. There’s a sheer glee in wanting to keep trying different beers. They have a very simple ordering system, will set up a tab if eating. Very prompt attention from the bar staff - really suits the English need for efficient service when it comes to pub/bar life!
Food was very good; posh pub grub (ie: soup was clam chowder) very well executed. We sat opposite the kitchen so can attest they know what are doing and do it well, professionally and with a laugh.
Nice people work here!
Also family friendly.

Cons: limited but interesting range of soft drinks eg: no Coke, water is San Pelegrino

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank The-Current-Mrs-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

A little quieter than its peers around Union Square, this place is cozy and comfortable. There were two bartenders on a relatively slow Monday night that were welcoming and friendly. There’s 30 taps and they have a very good variety of styles. Solid food choices too. But mostly I felt welcomed at the bar and really enjoyed my visit.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank GeneseoSupremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopwater Distribution also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hopwater Distribution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing