We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Fun”
Review of Sea Lion Cafe

Sea Lion Cafe
Ranked #2,807 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Valley Forge
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food and Fun”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great view of the world famous sea lions, clam chowder served in famous San Francisco sourdough bowls, what else is there to say? We also needed speedy service since we had only a short time before we needed to leave for a tour, and the staff responded.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MRuss82799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    16
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“great location and free show”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

To be honest we went to the Sea Lion cafe in order that we could watch the Pier 39 sea lions whilst we had lunch. That said the food we had was good and the service was also good and the staff were friendly and did take the time to chat. The show put on by the sea lions made the meal an experience worth having.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walshy1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Kinda cool, especially for the young-uns”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Okay, Sea lions are huge, lazy, smelly, fairly cute and highly aggressive animals. That said, the sea lion cafe is several barges tied together near Pier 39 to give the gigantic mammals someplace to lounge about with out causing to many problems for people and boats. This a great place to get some pretty cool pictures of sea lions even with a standard "snapshot" type camera since the barges are only a short distance from the Pier and slightly lower presenting a birds eye view. Since there is relatively little activity in the "life above water" for a sea lion, don't expect them to hold your attention (or that of children) for very long. All free.

On a side note: the restuarant called Sea lion Cafe is located above the barges and the above the Pier.It is a very nice meal with superb service. Quite pricey. I loved it but I'm sure it is too stuffy for active children unless they've coached on fine dining. The views are to die for and this is an awesome place to order dinner and watch the sunset.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeaSpOts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence Island
Level Contributor
155 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great view and place to watch the sea lions while the sun sets”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We sat outside at the front as we were only having drinks. We were there while the sea lions played, the sun set behind the Golden Gate Bridge. We could also just manage to see Alcatraz. We were there for about an hours for the grant cost aof $16.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunei110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A show for the price of lunch”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent two hours eating a 30 min lunch at the end of pier 39 becuase of the show the sea lions were putting on at our feet. The food was decent but the show was unbeatable.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank s1jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Lion Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sea Lion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing