We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marilyn is terrific” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Home Walk

Victorian Home Walk
Ranked #52 of 285 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us in exploring Pacific Heights with its colorful Victorian row houses, famous mansions, and beautiful gardens. Learn the history of San Francisco through its architecture ! A great introduction into the local side of San Francisco. Established in 1996. EXCLUSIVE : Visit the inside of a period Queen Anne Victorian ! The walk is easy, the pace leisurely, and there are no hills to climb.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Marilyn is terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Marilyn did a wonderful job showing us her part of San Francisco. She is very knowledgable. We learned a lot about the "painted ladies" of San Francisco ... And got s one great restaurant re of mendacious along the way ... Well done!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBK33928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    29
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“nice walk, deep knowledge of his city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Jay knows his city very well. He picks you up right in union Square and then you go together to Pacific Heights wherein he is going to walk you for a couple of hours around different parts of San Francisco and its Victorian/Edwardian architectre.

he is very knowledgeble and makes the tour fun. he also throws in some movie facts as well as prices of the current real estate market - if you ask him, anyway - to give you a flavour of the cost some of these houses are selling for.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Learn about the fabulous"Painted Ladies"!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The tour guide, Jay, was extremely knowledgeable and insightful. This is a MUST-DO tour in San Francisco. It is a walking tour (for the most part) of the beautiful and historical Victorian homes of San Francisco. He shows you different kinds of Victorian homes, talks about the history, and shows homes that I would have never been able to find on my own. And if you are concerned about the walking, don't be, we took it slow and avoided all hills. He definitely knows his way around the city! I highly recommend this tour, and I will probably go on it again next time I am in SF!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarlaynaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I can't rave enough about this tour, and our Victorian oficianado, Jay. Forget those bus tours. There is no better way to see the Painted Ladies of San Francisco than on foot...just as the citizenry of yesteryear would have encountered them in a daily basis. As a lover of history and architecture, I can't think of a better way to have spent 2+ hours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LRSmithMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Victorian Home Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a wonderful, informative and interesting 2 hour walk through Pacific Heights looking at all the the old homes of various architectures. Our guide was very knowledgable about the area and all of the changes that had occurred over the years and why.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NVaTraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Home Walk also viewed

 

Been to Victorian Home Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing