We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute decision” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Home Walk

Victorian Home Walk
Ranked #53 of 285 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us in exploring Pacific Heights with its colorful Victorian row houses, famous mansions, and beautiful gardens. Learn the history of San Francisco through its architecture ! A great introduction into the local side of San Francisco. Established in 1996. EXCLUSIVE : Visit the inside of a period Queen Anne Victorian ! The walk is easy, the pace leisurely, and there are no hills to climb.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Last minute decision”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had an out of town guest and needed a tour for a couple of hours. I found this lovely one where no reservation was required and the cost of $25 was reasonable. We all met by the red heart on the corner of Powell & Post at Union Square. We joined about 8 other lovely people who also would be on our adventure. Jay, our guide turned out to be a font of knowledge about the construction and periods of these lovely homes. Our tour mostly centered slightly north of Japantown walking towards Union/Pierce. We took the 45 bus west of Van Ness which was about a 15 minute ride max. First main stop was the Queen Anne Inn which is a B&B and I'm sure I'll recommend it to friends. I was highly impressed and will take other out of towners on this tour again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    29
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

On a beautiful October day we decided to try Jay's tour (four women over 50). It was one of the highlights of our four days in the city! Exceeded our expectations! Jay knows the city, the history, the homes, and we met some great fellow travelers! We finished our tour at one of the charming lunch spots Jay recommended. Bravo!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PBH99337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The way tours should be done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Jay's Victorian Home Walk was one of the highlights of my recent trip to SF. I'd picked up his unassuming flyer in the hotel and and thought the tour might be a mildly diverting way to spend a Sunday, but it turned out to be a fascinating morning, filled with nuggets of interesting information and great photo opportunities.

Jay started by giving us a bit of general San Francisco background while we waited for the bus to take us to the neighbourhood where the tour began - he knows his stuff, and the info is coupled with his gently caustic opinions! While we were on the bus he took time time to chat to everybody about where we were from etc.

This was an up close and personal tour of areas of SF that goes beyond where the tour buses can go, and gives a great insight into non-touristy areas of the city.

When the tour finished, Jay gave us restaurant recommendations for lunch and explained where to get the bus back to where we started.

All in all, a great tour: thoroughly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had a fantastic time on this tour! It was a great way to explore an area of the city that was a little less central to where we were staying: Jay met us in a centrally-located square and then led us by bus to the neighbourhood full of lovely Victorians.

Jay was a great tour guide: professional yet fun, and very knowledgeable on his subject. I asked quite a few questions and Jay answered them thoroughly and thoughtfully.

At the end of the tour, Jay provided us with instructions on how to return to our starting point, or where to visit next / restaurants to check out if we were going to explore the area further.

I highly recommend this tour!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect day in fabulous San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The weather could not have been better, and the guide, Jay, could not have been more pleasant, interesting, or knowledgeable for this two and a half hour wonderful walking tour. Four of us (unknown to each other beforehand) met our guide, as advertised, on the corner of Powell and Post in Union Square, and departed at 11am precisely. We walked two blocks and caught a public bus (round trip price included in tour cost) to go up, up, up those SF hills by bus before beginning our "leisurely stroll" to look at lovely restored Victorian homes and to learn lots of SF history and interesting architectural details (did you ever think of how many different "eras", architecturally and historically, there are in Victorian house design?) We covered a large area but it did not feel like a long or tiring walk at all. And of course the views from Pacific Heights were spectacular. This was much better than taking the typical tourist bus tour of the city! I highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldcally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Home Walk also viewed

 

Been to Victorian Home Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing