We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this! It was fabulous.”

Victorian Home Walk
Ranked #61 of 290 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us in exploring Pacific Heights with its colorful Victorian row houses, famous mansions, and beautiful gardens. Learn the history of San Francisco through its architecture ! A great introduction into the local side of San Francisco. Established in 1996. EXCLUSIVE : Visit the inside of a period Queen Anne Victorian ! The walk is easy, the pace leisurely, and there are no hills to climb.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Valrico, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do not miss this! It was fabulous.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

You get to see so many examples of the Victorian architecture and the tour guide is full of information on the different styles and history. This was one of our favorite things that we did in San Francisco and we did a lot of sight seeing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    29
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“San Francisco Victorian Home Walk - Great!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I would recommend this tour to all who want to get the real feel of the city. Jay is extremely knowledgable and hugely entertaining. It's not just about the houses - as beautiful as they are - it's about the growth and development of beautiful San Francisco. The 2 1/2 hours just flew by.

Go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“what a great experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

after breakfast our day began with this great tour. jay was on time and easy to find! We started the tour with a short bus ride included in our $25 fare. we arrived in Japan Town or now Lower Pacific Heights and we were on our way. I absolutely loved the tour. we began with a tour of the Queen Anne Hotel, once a girls' school. It was very neat. then we moved on and wandered through neighbourhoods and were educated on architectural styles. jay is incredibly knowledgeable. great views and no hills! we ended up on Union Street, and my friend and I loved this neighbourhood! I totally recommend this tour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgkVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
“Fun and informative”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a perfect way to get to know a slice of SF architecture and history. I would.call it a boutique tour given by a local not the bland tour by the large tour guides. Thoroughly enjoyable, fascinating information, and beautiful houses and views . Jay was the perfect guide.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Part of Trip !!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Jay Gifford is a talented, well read and knowledgeable. He conversed with our mixed group with various backgrounds and interests. I tossed some tough construction questions ( handled) , How certain groups ended up in an area ( Italians were prohibited from owning real estate at one time). His knowledge of preservation and historic details were second to none. Well presented . Add in a fresh seafood and it was a perfect day. When people take pride in their work, it shows.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKW2922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Home Walk also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Victorian Home Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing