We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jay Gifford of Victorian Home Walk !!!”

Victorian Home Walk
Ranked #55 of 289 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us in exploring Pacific Heights with its colorful Victorian row houses, famous mansions, and beautiful gardens. Learn the history of San Francisco through its architecture ! A great introduction into the local side of San Francisco. Established in 1996. EXCLUSIVE : Visit the inside of a period Queen Anne Victorian ! The walk is easy, the pace leisurely, and there are no hills to climb.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jay Gifford of Victorian Home Walk !!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Jay is a top-notch tour guide and local expert. He is not only a wealth of great information but a real pleasure to talk to and to hear as he guides you through the most fabulous part of the city. We had a great time and it was the highlight of our week in San Francisco!!! I would recommend this consummate professional ANY TIME !!! IF YOU WANT A GREAT TOUR OF THE OPULENT HISTORICAL HOMES, Jay Gifford is your man ! Thank you, Jay. From Johnny and Elena and Baby Johnny of Seattle

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alyona77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    29
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Real San Francisco from real San Franciscans”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have taken walking tours in Rome, Barcelona, and other major cities, and this one is top-notch.
It combines a history of the city with stories of the evolution of its residential architecture. It is thoughtfully designed to avoid the strenuous hills of the city, while covering buildings from Japantown to Pacific Heights. Our guide, Jay, is passionate about the city's buildings and was careful to pause every half block to showcase styles, makeovers, original buildings, and even the history of paint colors. This is an excellent tour for anyone who lives in the Bay area, as well as out of town visitors. I didn't feel like a tourist; instead I felt like a student of San Francisco life. Well worth the money and a step beyond the normal attractions of Alcatraz, Lombard Street, and the Golden Gate Bridge. We ended with a view of the bay, and on Union Street with its unique shops and restaurants. A perfect day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank svwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
“Great way to learn about San Francisco!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Taking a couple of hours to walk around one of the prettiest neighborhoods in San Francisco, while being treated to fascinating facts about Victorian architecture - well, it just doesn't get much better! Our tour guide, Marilyn, was so thoughtful about giving us just the right amount of information, while keeping it light and moving. No big hills on this walking tour, but some great scenery for sure. We learned about the different styles of the Victorian era, how they were made, and details about some of the famous people who lived in them. I loved the tour, and would heartily recommend it as a great way to learn about San Francisco at street level.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank vacationtraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Educational and Entertaining Tour!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I took this tour with my mother--we both really enjoyed the views and the stories that Marilyn used to give the histories of several of the homes. The tour involved a short bus ride and walk that only had 2 downhill and 2 slight uphill portions, which is great for San Francisco! The tour included learning about the history of the neighborhood, how it changed over time, how individual houses changed over time, how to tell the different styles of Victorian homes and explained various small details. Marilyn has a great sense of humor and filled the time well. I highly recommend this tour if you like history and/or architecture.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank allisonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Experience!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Absolutely Fantastic!! So much to see and Jay knows the history. It was a great experience. We lived in SF for many years, but Jay told us so much we didn't know. And he is such a nice guy! Don't miss this!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KJA21044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Home Walk also viewed

 

Been to Victorian Home Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing