We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tour”

Local Tastes of the City Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Top 10 walking tours for globetrotting foodies - Lonely Planet (April 2013). Same Day Reservations. Explore the history and culture of local neighborhoods, including Chinatown and North Beach/Little Italy, as "We Eat Our Way Through San Francisco." Voted Best City Tour by San Francisco Bay Guardian 2011. Named "Best City Tour of 2006 and 2007" by CitySearch.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I did the tour of the Italian district and wasn't disappointed. We visited many restaurants in the neighborhood: bakeries, candy stores, restaurants, specialty food stores... All while getting a history lesson from our guide, Blondina, who really knew her stuff. If you ear visiting the are, give this tour a try.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foolycoolycurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    148
    31
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cultural and "ever so good tasting"!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently took the Chinatown tour and were simply amazed with our tour guide, the culture and history as well as the superb food samples we tried. This is our second tour, having take the Little Italy tour last summer. Great tastes and a great tour!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank orangebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Gift”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We took our friend, who loves chocolate, baked goods, and coffee, on this tour of North Beach in San Francisco for her birthday. Our guide, Blondina, introduced us to many aspects of the neighborhood we'd never heard of before, though we are all long time Bay Area residents. The food was fabulous, and a good time was had by all. Blondina went out of her way to make the event special for our guest of honor, and spent extra time with us after the tour to chat. It made for an outstanding afternoon, well worth the price. But we did have to skip dinner....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveAndKarenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Educational and Tasty”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We took the Little Italy tour on Valentines day weekend. The food was really great, and you get a little education along the way. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and funny, and it was neat to learn about the neighborhood and how breads and chocolates are made.

One highlight was when we stopped at the Italian restaurant for some pasta, and the owner sang for us and told some funny stories. They even had some flowers for us, for the valentine's day weekend.

My only regret (and this had nothing to do with the tour company) was that I wish the other tourists had been a bit more attentive. We had people yammering on cell phones, wandering off from the group, and complaining about the length of the walk. (it really wasn't much - 8 blocks perhaps?)

Recommended for a tasty tourist experience!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PCBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Exciting, tasty, and historical!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I took the tour around Little Italy, and it was absolutely wonderful! Jim, our tour guide, was personable, funny and went out of his way to make sure we got the best experience (even though we were late!). The food was delicious, the sights were beautiful, and the tour itself was all-around amazing! I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone I know, and am planning to come back for another tour as soon as I can!

Helpful?
Thank PhoenixHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Tastes of the City Tours also viewed

 

Been to Local Tastes of the City Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing