We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Labor Day Weekend in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Park Central San Francisco
Ranked #63 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Daly City, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Labor Day Weekend in SF”
Reviewed November 7, 2006

My friend and I stayed at The Argent Hotel over Labor Day Weekend 2006 in San Francisco. Now despite living nearby the city, I have never had the opportunity to stay downtown. Despite the city was packed that weekend, we were able to get a very good room at a good rate. I thought the room was elegant and well furnished. Despite that we didn't have a fantastic view it was a very comfortable room. The lobby staff was mostly helpful, but were less than proficient at check in. We both feel that it was an excellent value for our dollar.

  • Liked — The room and its floor to ceiling window
  • Disliked — The check-in process
  • Tips/Secrets — N/A
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenHenmi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    1,353
    520
    215
    121
See reviews for
641
897
216
1,322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

The rooms were clean, the gentleman at the check in desk wasnt helpful or friendly at all. The hotel wasnt anything special. It had a great location, only minutes away from all of the shopping. We will stay somewhere else when we return to San Fran.

  • Liked — The location was great
  • Disliked — Front desk staff/price
  • Tips/Secrets — If you stay near the Fishermans Wharfs, you get a better deal and its only minutes away from union square.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rmendell7244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

The Argent is a tired old hotel in a good location. Signs posted there said it will be renovated into a Westin in 2007, which will be a much-needed improvement. Views from the rooms are great.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Tips/Secrets — after it becomes a Westin in 2007 should be a great hotel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ederko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2006

We stayed at the Argent for the first leg of our honeymoon.
We found the hotel to be in a great location for shopping/Union Square and the hotel staff to be very friendly.
We had taken a 10 hour flight from Heathrow to San Francisco so were feeling very tired and weary when we arrived. We made the fatal mistake of leaving behind a bag in the taxi that dropped us off at the hotel from the airport. We didn't realise this until we walked into the hotel to check-in. The concierge were fantastic! They played back the CCTV footage, retrieved the cab number and registration plate, and managed to track down the cab driver. Thankfully, we managed to get our bag back, complete with contents, so in our eyes the concierge are our heros!!
It took us a while to get checked in - even though there were only 2 people in front of us in the queue. Each time we walked through the reception area/lobby we always found lots of people waiting to check in/out.
Once we got checked in we found that they had upgraded us to a deluxe room given it was our honeymoon. The room was spacious, had amazing views with floor to ceiling windows and a well stocked mini-bar. If we were to be picky, the only down side was the bathroom which, in our opinion, is in need of some modernisation. The bath wasn't particulary comfortable which is a necessity when you've been on your feet sightseeing for 8 hours each day!
All in all, this was a lovely hotel and in a great location. We fell in love with San Francisco and it's people. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. What a great way to start our honeymoon .... our next stop, Kauai'i (Hawaii) to rest our weary feet!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Check in
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

A group of us stayed at this hotel during Labor Day Weekend. Our room was not ready until 5:00pm and once we checked in we found that we had sheet stains on our bed. I reported to house keeping about the stains and they didnt get back to us until 3 hours later. We even had problems with our toilet and asked for a room change. They were unable to accommodate us and the only thing they said was sorry. Also, the front desk services was just ok nothing great about them. They will even charge you $5 if you need to print out your online boarding pass. Even the 3 stars hotel will give it to you for free.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Nixon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San marino
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

I stay in this hotel for my nephew wedding. The services

of the hotel is terrible. The front desk staff took us a long

time to check out. The room that we stay is next to the

elevator. So there was a lot of nosie. The coffe marker

they put in the bathroom. Terrible. The TV is so small.

The parking is not valet from the hotel guest . Terrible.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — the services from the front desk staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — no way
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank briantjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

after reading the reviews here, i was scared to see how the hotel would turn out, but i actually thought it was a pretty nice hotel. but since i know most people like to read what the cons were, here you go:

-our room wasn't ready at 3pm (check-in time) which was a bit annoying because i was in dire need of a nap (and the main reason i didn't give the full 5 star rating). we did get a free upgrade. it wasn't a room with much of a view or anything, but it was a corner room, which i'm guessing was more spacious than most rooms. it was definitely much more room than we needed...

-parking is $42 a night... so we decided to park at the 5th & mission garage (yerba buena garage), which was $23 for 24 hours. i DEFINITELY recommend parking here... just make sure you park at the northeastern-most corner, and the hotel is only about a block away!

-other than that, our stay there was pretty great!

  • Liked — location location LOCATION!
  • Disliked — our room wasn't ready at check-in
  • Tips/Secrets — park at the 5th and mission garage... you'll save about $20 per night!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woohooitsmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
5,321 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
705 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
2,164 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,213 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central San Francisco

Property: The Park Central San Francisco
Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Central San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at The Park Central San Francisco - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Park Central San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing