We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Consistent with high expectations of a Westin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #58 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistent with high expectations of a Westin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed at the Westin Market St. for just two nights, but it was perfect for my business trip. The hotel itself is very nice with easy access to downtown and not much different in distance to our office from the Union Sq. location of the Westin St. Francis (this one is actually preferred given tourists in that area). The service was great upon check in and I got a smaller but top floor room with panoramic views. Reception talked me through what was available still given it was late and let me choose. The water pressure in the room was a little bit light, but otherwise, the room was very comfortable. I had two meals at the restaurant and both were very good! I'll be back!

Room Tip: High floor away from an elevator
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SeaTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    1,220
    457
    177
    91
See reviews for
546
787
192
1,150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed here for 3 days and enjoyed each day. Best part I found about the hotel is its location. Food, shopping, transport everything is nearby.
Cable car is available from Powell street. F line buses are also available. We used Bart for airport transfer which was also quite convenient journey.
Free Wi fi was not there. Room size was ok considering downtown location.
I only wish If I could get Microwave in the room since I was travelling with kid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMU110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Westin for 4 nights and found the hotel perfect for what we wanted the location was perfectly situated for getting to the Powell and Market cable car/ Union Square. The hotel is close to all public transport and sightseeing attractions literally on the door step. Near plenty of eateries. The hotel room was very comfortable bed was great would stay again. Only slight complaint is that for the price of the hotel breakfast isn't included. Wifi wasn't free in the hotel room but was in the lobby.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooziver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We checked in early, thankful. The staff are so friendly. Our room was located on the 33rd floor, SPG preferred room. Construction, major renovation, going on next door. A call to change rooms was made and honored. We moved down the hall to a lovely room, construction still being heard down the hall, no big deal. However, there appears to be renovations going on above us as well. We will make the best of it today, if it continues we might ask for a quieter room. Very clean and great location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NGerding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana
Level Contributor
211 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Westin Hotel and appreciated how close it was to the Market Street which has everything you ever needed. I also loved the fact that you can fly into the San Francisco Airport and take the BART to Powell or Montgomery Street and walk to the hotel. I spoke with some folks that used a taxi and paid over $50 to get to the hotel and I paid $8.65. It is pretty easy to get a ticket from the BART station and if you plan on using the BART to return to the airport buy a roundtrip ticket. I also read that you can do the same thing from the Oakland Airport and it is around $3-$4. The weight room is on the 4th floor and has all the essential workout equipment that you will need. I was able to use free weights, treadmill machines, along with other machines for lifting exercises. The breakfast was a little pricey, but excellent. I would recommend a high floor as you can see most of San Francisco. Enjoy my friends!

Green Features: If you do not have the towels exchanged every day you receive points as a Starwoods member and also a $5 coupon for drinks.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Westin is located within walking/running distance to most everything you need in SF. I was actually attending a Convention at the neighboring Marriott Marquis and this hotel (MM) has a lot more going on than the Westin (video games in the lobby, Starbucks inside, etc.) but that is the point of staying at the Westin. The Westin was much quieter and easily navigated. I could walk to Market Street and dine, shop, etc. The subway lines are on Market. I could run down to the bay and take pictures of AT&T Park. There is a nice restaurant MeSo and a nice lounge/bar in the lobby as well. If you want an upscale hotel that you can enjoy, I would stay at the Westin.

Room Tip: high floor corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel has a great location downtown, but somewhat difficult for parking. The rooms were disappointing; small and not well kept. The service was ok, but nothing special. We did not eat at the restaurants, so can not say much about the food services or quality. The price was more than hotels outside the city, which had more to offer.

Room Tip: Corner rooms better
See more room tips
Green Features: Yes, they are listed on the website, but not very obvious in rooms.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin San Francisco Market Street for your stay in San Francisco. We appreciate the feedback as these comments will continue to build our hotel and ensure our guests receive the Westin Experience and leave feeling renewed and relaxed.

Safe Travels and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#24 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,622 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#53 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,805 reviews
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#69 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zelos
Hotel Zelos
#35 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#31 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#36 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Property: Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at the Park Central San Francisco Hotel - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Central Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing