We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Big Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #61 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for a Big Family”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I must say it has one of the best locations in San Fran. A street car ride away from the water and one block off of union square. It was a safe, clean and enjoyable stay. Having a big family we were accommodated with connecting rooms, greeted as soon as we walked in the door by one of the managers of the hotel. He was eager to help us and even surprised us with a bottle of wine as a welcome to the hotel. The staff was friendly and the overall experience was fantastic. The beds were nice, room was spacious, the shower and bathroom was clean and the view was well worth it. Definitely a recommendation to anyone traveling and looking to be in the heart of the city.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AtoZ0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
San Francisco is such a great place to spend time with your family and we thank you for sharing your experience with others. Safe Travels and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    1,323
    501
    206
    114
See reviews for
621
878
213
1,292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location! Located in downtown, close to shopping, restaurants and transportation. The hotel is well maintained, with friendly and efficient staff ready to help in any way they can. Nice clean rooms, and comfortable beds. Bathrooms are good size . I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
SZ,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your travels while in San Francisco. This is a wonderful city to visit and we love being part of our travelers experience and San Francisco memories. We look forward to welcoming you back when you find yourself in San Francisco again.

Safe Travels and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel offered great service especially since I am an SPG-Gold member. I suspect they treat all their guests well. I was upgraded to a high floor corner room without asking. The rooms are small but clean with nice furniture. The view of the city from my room was really cool. The hotel is in a good location near market street and Union Square shopping. I especially loved the French coffee shop around the corner every morning. Overall, this hotel met all my expectations and I look forward to staying there again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Joesph M.

We are thankful for your review and are excited to be a part of your San Francisco Travels. Thank you for your SPG loyalty as one of our valued Gold Members, we always want to ensure you and all of our guests have a wonderful and rejuvenated stay. Safe Travels, Be Well and we look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Visited the Westin Market Street and enjoyed the room as well as the location. Near the central downtown business and shopping district.Very well maintained hotel with good staff and was able to get a refrigerator which came in handy. Easy access to attractions, for example only about a 10 minute walk to the cable car station. But...... for this type of hotel internet should be FREE!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel for your stay. Having families enjoy San Francisco and letting us be apart of your stay is our pleasure. Thank you for letting us be a place of relaxation during your travels.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good location. OK reception. Cleaning poor, leaves things behind and does not refill water. Internet absent in the rooms unless you pay an outrageous price (in 2014, vs cheap hotels almost everywhere in Europe and free in shops and streets of SF!!). Breakfast horrible and pricey. You have to pay for email connection in the Business centre. Poor gym. Cold everywhere. Noise from AC even when it is not functioning!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do have our Westin Wellness Kids Menus in each of our outlets and we apologize that those were not made available to during your stay. This feedback will assist us to continue to increase our guest experience.

Safe Travels and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at the Westin SF Market Street (hotel is actually off a bit of Market on 3rd St.) in late July with the family. The hotel is a very nice property and is in a great location. The room we were in was recently refreshed and the accommodations were nice. One strange incident is that there was a huge flying bug in our room one night that seemed strange since we were on the 18th floor. I captured the bug in a plastic cup and the desk manager called it a "dinosaur" bug. Flying bug aside, there are just a few amenities that keep the hotel from being a four star property. First, the menu is not really kid-friendly (both restaurant and room service) and room service ends at 10:30 with no late night options. Seemed strange for a large hotel in San Francisco. Second, while the hotel has a gym it does not have an indoor or outdoor swimming pool or an option to use a pool at a sister Starwood property (the W, St. Regis, another Westin, and the Palace are within 2-3 blocks) or at a local health club. Third, while the room was nice, the bathroom needed updating and was on the small side. Altogether this hotel is a solid 3 plus stars, but not a four star.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrProfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear James R.,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. Your feedback about your stay will continue to assist us as we create a memorable Westin Wellness experience for all of our traveling guests.

Safe Travels and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

A nice hotel, but it would have been nice to know that major construction was taking place on the Starwood Preferred floor (currently a Platinum Starwood Member). The construction started at about 730am and went on until my checkout at 1pm. I planned to sleep in and catch-up on some work before an afternoon meeting, but the construction made both impossible.

The desk agent seemed surprised when I expressed my disappointment at checkout and promised some kind of preferred point bonus, but it was never issued. I stayed on the evening of 7/24, so would warn upcoming guests to ask if there is construction on your floor if you would like some peace and quiet.

Starwood hotels in North America really seem to be declining, but are still a great place to stay outside the US.

Room Tip: Check for consturction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent staying with us. Our SPG loyal guests are a priority for our Westin hotel and for all of Starwood. Having your feedback is valuable to assist with our guest experience and to ensure that the system we have in place during times of renewal throughout the hotel, it is communicated properly.

Safe Travels and thank you for choosing to stay Westin and for your Starwood loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 228 in San Francisco
4,912 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,873 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#66 of 228 in San Francisco
2,123 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Property: Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at the Park Central San Francisco Hotel - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Central Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing