We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, questionable service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Park Central San Francisco
Ranked #65 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I'd love to give the hotel 5 stars but can't based on one service incident. The rooms are nice for Westin standards, great location off Market street and reasonably priced as well. However, we called room service several times and they would not answer. Worst of all, when they finally did pick up their phone, they slammed the phone down saying they were too busy. I complained to management but not sure they took my complaint that seriously.

I don't want that one bad experience to ruin it for the rest of the staff. Most of them were very nice and helpful. Therefore, I only downgraded them one star in this review. However, I hope the individual in room service is properly disciplined for their bad behavior. Many thanks to the front desk for providing an excellent room on the top floor.

Please note there is no spa at this hotel. If you're looking for spa services avoid the St. Regis hotel, which is also a Starwood hotel. My fiancee got an overpriced and bad manicure/pedicure at the St. Regis, which is where the Westin directs you if you request such services.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room floor. There are great views at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deprivation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at The Park Central San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

deprivation,

Thank you for your honesty and sharing your experience with others. We do love our hotel and location and take great pride in our level of service and will be sure to follow up. San Francisco is a great place to travel to and visit and we thank you for letting us be a part of your experience.

Safe Travels and Be Well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,914 - 1,920 of 3,716 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the westin market street. Few thoughts for any business traveller.
- overall Hotel is okay in a good location
- the gym is shocking. Limited free weights, small and not many options.
- food was okay in the restaurant. Had breakfast there twice. A few mistakes but okay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank angussullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at The Park Central San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

angussullivan

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and share your experience with other business travelers.

Safe Travels and Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I wish I could rate this hotel higher but always some problem arises. The safebox was not working, the 3116 room was a bit noisy because of the elevator so try to avoid choosing 3016, 2916 and so on.

This is my third time visiting the hotel and the location is great, the price is also a good thing but the little details make me rate it as average instead of very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanesteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at The Park Central San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

juanesteban,

You are right that it is in the details. We thank you for sharing your feedback with us as we continue to improve and creating a lasting and memorable stay with our guests. We will look at these concerns with our management team to make sure they are minimized and our systems in place are working to address these areas.

Safe Travels and Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We chose this hotel as a base for our San Francisco. We stayed 3 nights as part of my wife's 40th birthday celebration. The hotel reception staff were fantastic and made sure we had a great stay. We had a double Queen room on the 31st floor and had a great view. This was perfect for us and our 2 daughters (5years and 1 1/2 years old). Remember to bring a grobag /sleep bag for your toddler as the hotel doesn't have warm bedding for the cot.

The location is great and you can easily walk with you family to Union Square, the Powell cable car and fish market. We thoroughly recommend going to union square and taking the Powell cable car to Pier 39 (make sure you get to Union Square early if you have a Stroller to avoid queues). Its easy to then get a Ferry and do the bay / Alcatraz thing.

The Concierge were great providing options and advice on convenient locations for dinner. Didn't want to go too far with children.

Room Tip: Choose high floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at The Park Central San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Philip D

We are honored to have been your base while celebrating a great time with your family. San Francisco has a lot to offer and navigating that with our concierge team is a great way to go. I am also going to be sure to mention the bedding for toddlers with our Housekeeping team to see if there is anything that we can change to make that easier for our traveling families.

Safe Travels and be well! Enjoy your family time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights April 2014. Couldn't have picked a better location - we walked to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Chinatown, AT&T stadium and lots of other places. Check in and check out were a breeze. Front desk staff were very nice with one exception - we asked one of the bellmen for directions and he wasn't quite as warm and friendly as everyone else but that was the only less than great thing we could say about our stay. Clean, spacious accommodations - bathrooms weren't roomy but not tiny either. The place smelled great! Housekeeping staff were wonderful. Hotel was close to everything! Valet parking was a must - their staff was really great and prompt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at The Park Central San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Anne C,

What a wonderful review and we are so glad that we were here for you during your Travels to San Francisco. This city has so many wonderful things to offer our travelers and we enjoy being part of your memory.

Safe Travels and Be Well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Westin is located on Market st. and provides a great location for your San Francisco explorations. If you are there on business, the convention center is right across the street; we were there for pleasure and business and loved the location. The main shopping area is a few blocks away and it is about a 10 minute walk to the Ferry Building and the Emarcedero, maybe double that to North Shore, Chinatown and more. BART and MUNI (public transportation) lines are also close by.

The rooms look like they have been recently remodeled. Very nice, clean, and minimal. They are a little small (at least our king bed run of the house room was), but then again you are in the city and space can be a luxury. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms clean, but water pressure is just OK and of course their Heavenly Bed. The rate was great (But this was a meeting rate so we didn't shop around), the staff is very friendly and the two concierges who helped us were great with tips, hints, secrets, and more. We wanted to rent a car for the day to drive around Point Reyes and the concierge directed us to a company that offered pick up and drop off service and had great daily rates (less than a night's parking at the Westin).

The one annoying thing is that, like so many upper end business-type hotels, they charge $20 a day for the use of the internet. Why do they still do this when so many of the more moderately priced chains do not charge for internet use. As usual, you can work for free in the lobby, but this is always a pain. Leave your swimsuits at home as there is no pool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolaGatitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at The Park Central San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hola Gatitos!

Thank you for great review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate you sharing your experiences with others and most of all are really glad you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with in San Francisco.

Enjoy your travels and be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Although we don't usually spend this much on a night in a hotel, we needed to be close to where our son was staying. It is situated close to everything- shopping, the ferry building, and dining. We caught the trolley car to the ferry building - wharf- and back - on 3rd. Beautiful St Patrick's church around the corner. Union square, Target and movie theater within walking distance. The staff was helpful. They only have valet parking - so park it and forget the hassle of driving in SF. Beautiful view with floor to ceiling window. Accidentally got handicap room but not a big problem. They allowed late check out til 3:00. Checked out over the phone. We enjoyed it. Book early if you can --prices went
up the closer we got to our date.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at The Park Central San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

CinAndy,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is wonderful and look forward to sharing your review with our hotel staff. Your comments to assist with Safe travels and Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
6,111 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
1,728 reviews
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central San Francisco

Address: 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $186 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Central San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at The Park Central San Francisco - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Park Central San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing