We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #63 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Recently stayed for 2 weekend nights. The location was great for walking to shopping in Union Square and a little longer walk to the Bay Bridge. We had a nice room on the 12th floor with a view of Jessie Square. I requested a quiet location and we got a nice quiet room at the end of the floor. The room was plenty large and really enjoyed the floor to ceiling windows. We didn't spend much time in the room or at the hotel, but it suited us well for our stay. We did seem to have a leaky shower or tub though as every time the shower was used, the bathroom floor was pretty well flooded. Also, the bathroom was a pretty tight squeeze, but the generous size of the room made up for it and nothing bothered us enough to complain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSB906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
LSB906,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin San Francisco Market Street and for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. Thank you for bring the shower/tub to our attention and will follow up with our engineering team. Being well rested at The Westin is a priority of ours and glad you found that while exploring our city.

Safe Travels and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    1,339
    513
    210
    118
See reviews for
634
890
214
1,306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Was here on business and found this to be a neat hotel big in stature but felt cozy. A large bar area in lobby lends itself to seating to those staying at the hotel. The brunch on Sunday is nice, nothing out of the ordinary. The bar itself was a bit iffy on service. Wasn't great, wasn't bad...most likely would try another hotel. I was convenient of shopping if that is what you are looking to do.

Room Tip: Again, city hotel, not a viewers paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbi1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneSF, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Barbi1526,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was very happy to read that you had an overall positive experience. I was disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations with our friendly service. I do hope we get the opportunity to serve you again. Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

3 night stay....beautiful land mark hotel, gracious staff and beautiful guest rooms. My room faced the park so it was abuzz with activities/music ect .... Which sometime went on late ... First night it was a sax player next night a bagpipe player and last night some sort of drummer . Easy to hop on a trolley car, bus or taxi .... Short although steep walk to china town... In the center of it all . Fun historical photos line the Lobby walls ...
Id definetely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
LizF,

Thank you kindly for your recommondation and for sharing your experience with others in the Tripadvisor community. San Francisco creates a wonder each night and are so glad that you got to experience it.

Safe Travels and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

While this is not the cheapest place to stay, the service is impeccable. From the front desk to valet (also pricey at 53+ a night) to room service, everything was as expected from a 4 star property. Close to all transportation and a quick walk uphill to Chinatown.

Helpful?
Thank Joeybob9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and am thrilled to share this with our staff. We will continue to bring great service to our guests and appreciate the review to share with others. Safe travels and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

On arrival at the Westin hotel we were upgraded to an executive room which was nice of staff. However the key cards were not working and staff had to let every single guest into their rooms that night which added some delays in getting to our room. The hotel room was nice and clean and we had a great view of the city. It was in a great location and close to shops and restaurants. When we were leaving I received the bill which included a bill from the restaurant which I did not use during my stay. This was taken off our bill but no apology was offered from the staff member. Overall a nice stay at the Westin and I would definitely recommend this hotel to visitors of San Fran.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneSF, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear darren1702,
Thank you for your very kind feedback overall. I truly apologize for the hiccup you experienced during your stay. I'm glad to hear though that we recovered and you were not inconvenienced. We do hope we can serve you again soon. Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was not too bad location wise, and room was generally ok. With the reception I got, however, there was hardly any worth to being Platinum at (this) Westin: unlike the W's I visited recently in Hong Kong, London, Bali, there was not even a Welcome card from the GM; no small amenity to say 'we value your stay'; even the complimentary water bottles were not replaced. But perhaps I've been spoilt by similar gestures at other SPG properties. Another issue is, as the W chain has come up, Westin seems to struggle with being between Modern/Chic (like W) and Classy/Elegant (like the Sheraton chain), and here in San Fran, with TWO Westins in close order, this one seemed to take it easy. I doubt the suites were full, but that question was nonchalantly brushed aside when I checked in. Most amazingly, I was charged a US$15 'handling fee' for receiving some packages - the first hotel all week I was in the USA to charge a fee for doing this, and despite the explanation given to me that SF is 'unionised', I thought it would have been a simple enough thing to take it off for a Platinum guest; Four Seasons SAm Fran certainly didn't bother to charge me last I was there. All in all, not bad (and the restaurant Maso is good) - just not what I have come to expect as a Platinum guest

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank kkwek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneSF, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear kkwek01,
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. Especially as one of our most valued guest, a SPG member, I'm very disappointed to hear that we failed you. We will work very hard in improving in the areas you mention. Hotels in Asia have a very high level of service and we will strive to match them. I do hope we get the opportunity to regain your confidence. It would be my pleasure to personally assist. Don't hesitate to contact me at sharms@westinsf.com. Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was happy with virtually everything at this hotel. Clean,comfortable, quiet and well-located. The room was good-sized with nice furnishings. The bed was the Westin "Heavenly Bed", and did not disappoint. Even the shower was very good. This is a convenient hotel for walking to Union Square, Chinatown, Financial District and the Embarcadero. When not walking, I opted for buses/trolleys/cable cars, and this location was close to numerous lines; I was able to find a line to anyplace I wanted to go. Even the BART stop is nearby, and I used BART to/from the airport. I would be happy to recommend this hotel, and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoisonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneSF, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear PoisonPrincess,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Market Street for your accommodation and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind ratings and do hope you come back soon for another "heavenly stay". Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,115 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,907 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#70 of 229 in San Francisco
2,149 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Property: Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at the Park Central San Francisco Hotel - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Central Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing