We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton with a Westin Nameplate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #61 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
449 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Sheraton with a Westin Nameplate”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The only reason for staying at this property is location, location, location. We stayed one night on business and chose this property due to location and thinking it would be a nice upgrade being a Westin.

However, check in was very slow (Gold line was just a regular line) as if the computers were locked. The rooms are Sheraton rooms with tub showers and Chinese amenities in the bathtub. The fitness center located on the 4th floor is way too small for the size of the hotel. There are no locker rooms or any relaxation areas (surely no sauna or steam). No pool.

The restaurant is newly opened, did not go. This is certainly not a place to bring kids. This is a strictly business hotel doing business because of its location.

Room Tip: If you are not Starwood Gold or above, prepare to pay a lot of internet access and bottled water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear LGspartan,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. I was disappointed to hear that you did not feel renewed and refreshed the Westin way after your stay with us. I do appreciate your comments and I do hope you will visit us again. Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    1,323
    500
    206
    113
See reviews for
621
877
213
1,291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was looking forward to staying at the Westin before heading to Napa for Memorial Day Weekend. My boyfriend and I picked the Westin because it seemed like a fair price considering the weekend and the location of the hotel. I even called before we booked to ask whether or not the hotel provided free parking for guests and was told by the concierge that guests parked free. With this info we decided to book a night here.

However, when we arrived for our one night stay with our rental car the parking attendants said that it would be $50.00 plus tax per night to park at the hotel. I get that San Fran is expensive but $50 a night is outrageous especially when you do your due diligence to inquire about the parking before your arrival. I'm very angry about being lied to by the concierge and will be bringing my business elsewhere.

For the price and parking situation at this hotel there are much better places to stay in San Fran.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Kim,
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I'm truly sorry and would like to apologize to you about the miscommunication by our staff in regards to our Valet parking pricing. Please contact me directly at sharms@westinsf.com so I can clarify this for you. We do strive to create memorable experiences for all our guests but not in the way you remember us and I would like to rectify that. I do hope you will allow us to serve you again. I hope to hear from you. Simone H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

To put it simple there is much better value out there. For the long version see below

It's a mix of building issue and service. You would think in the building is already not the best then service would be making up for it. Here a couple of issue why I won't come back to this SPG hotel.

1. Check-in room was half stocked (mini bar, robes, slippers etc)
2. SPG counter had an employee working that really didn't want to be there.
2. Next day cleaning didn't happen. We were out from 7AM-4PM and came back to a dirty room
3. Heavenly showers - there is nothing heavenly. Very low water pressure along with issues adjusting temperature. Either get burned or shower cold.

Altogether a very mediocre experience. Guess it's all about checking business people in and out quickly with not much attention to detail. For the money we'v paid it was just NOT a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Torsten,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. I would like to apologize to you for all the inconveniences you encountered and would like to get in touch to ensure we rectify the maintenance issues of low water pressure you mention. I'm sorry that you did not receive any service as it sounds as if you opted into our "Make a green choice program". Please contact me at sharms@westinsf.com so I can learn more about your challenges and have the opportunity to make positive changes. I look forward hearing from you. Simone H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Westin Hotel is a centrally located Hotel in the middle of San Francisco. Walking distance to all the major department stores eg, Macys, Nordstrom, Ross. Good Hotel for a short stay or conference venue. Food was good and the service was good.

The cleanliness of the rooms was exceptional and the staff were always willing to oblige.

Green Features: The Westin Hotel had very good environmentally-friendly practices in place.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Connie,
Thank you so much for staying with us and your wonderful review. I was a bit confused on why you rated us only a 3 with such a wonderful review but I appreciate the kind words and am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from a five day stay at this hotel. My boyfriend participated in a conference held in this hotel. We had a room on the 28th floor with an awesome view of the bay and downtown. Sara at the front desk was so friendly and welcoming!!! The valet made us feel like we were at home. The luggage valet were better than the concierges in making sure you went to the best restaurants and providing directions. I approached Tina at the concierge desk and said hello and she just stared at me. I asked a question about finding a restaurant for an hour and a half lunch. She looked at me and said she didn't understand what I was asking. We finally got it together, and she made a reservation or me, gave me the directions and that was it. She didn't say, have a good time, I hope you enjoy it, let me know if it worked for you, etc. Needless to say, I took he rest of my questions to the reservation counter, but did ask for the guest services manager, Curtis, to let him know of my experience. Curtis was apologetic and made me feel like her behavior was agreeably unacceptable. When we arrived in our room, Curtis and Sarah had sent up champagne, strawberries dipped in chocolate and bottled water. Thank you Curtis and Sarah for making this wrong, right. Last year we stayed at the Cliff during this conference. This year we wanted more convenience, so we stayed where the conference was being held. We will probably return next year, and because of you two, and the valet and luggage guys, we will most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved the 28th floor!
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the Eco friendly practices!! We opted to not have our room cleaned for the entire stay, so we old receive the Starwood points instead!!!! People who opt for this choice should receive more towels (I found housekeeping to ask for more)! Great hotel!!!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

this is an amazing hotel with perfect location, close to all the public transportation outlets so its easy to get by in the city. walking distance from a lot of cool hangouts and union square. Its especially cool if you are a Starwood member, we got upgraded to the 30th floor with an amazing room with view to the south

Room Tip: ask for the highest floor you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ittais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

There was a little snafu upon check in, my room was still occupied, but they quickly fixed it with an upgrade that including a great view of the city, bay, and AT&T Park, which is why we came to San Francisco, the Giants game. The location is walking distance to the ball park and dining areas.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a higher level floor if you don't mind the extra charge. The view is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
4,908 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
2,870 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#66 of 228 in San Francisco
2,122 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Property: Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at the Park Central San Francisco Hotel - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Central Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing