We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #62 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Location and Hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived very late in the evening and a high floor room with a lovely view was waiting for us. The front desk staff were professional, fast, and welcoming. Housekeeping was very good and came early in the day. The hotel arranged pickup for me at the Oakland airport. The only "glitch" was the charge for daily internet service which should not have been on the bill as a plat... but that was quickly taken care of with apologies. Great location and great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSteve818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Dr. Steve,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We appreciate your patronage and our Housekeeping and Front Desk staff were excited to read your praise. Please join us soon again.
Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    1,320
    499
    203
    111
See reviews for
617
866
210
1,287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived early evening on a Saturday night with a relation for king room and were offered a choice of two queens on an upper floor or the last king room on a lower floor. We choose the latter. The room was a good size overlooking 3rd. Despite low floor, it was very quiet. The bathroom was small (single sink with maybe a foot on each side for counter space). The shower/tub combo was standard issue hotel. We had two problems with the bathroom. First, the exposed (ie, no fixture) energy efficient bulb needed to be replaced and the toilet seat was about to fall off. We reported both issues to the front desk the next morning and 30 hours later had the light bulb replaced (but no fixture so maybe going for an industrial design) with the toilet seat unaddressed. We were leaving the next morning so didn't push the issues. For a Starwood hotel, I recall an experience in Oahu where the door lock was broken when I got to the room so I called down to the front desk and had a repairman up to the room and the issue resolved in 30 minutes (and then a call from management to apologize and a box of chocolate covered macadamia nuts on checkout for my inconvenience). The rooms were clean and the maid service very friendly. It was odd that written/painted on the wall in blue was the word "desk" where the desk was which made the room feel dirty. Finally, the last day watching tv only Fox, the hotel channel, and ESPN would work. In sum, I've stayed at Westin Hotels from Chicago to NYC to Mt. Laurel and without fail have experienced at worst a 4-star experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. I'm very disappointed to hear that you had trouble with your guestroom and that we were not responsive to your request to have the light and toilet seat fixed. We are very proud of the level of service we provide and I'm truly sorry that we failed in your case. It would be my pleasure to personally assist you should your travels bring you back to the Bay Area. Don't hesitate to contact me at sharms@westinsf.com.
Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My favorite Starwood hotel in San Francisco other than st. Regis.
The staff here know how to treat guests. Polite, welcoming and always ready to help or amend mistakes.
The Le Meridien manager should stay here to learn what service means.
The beds are also very comfortable and the views great.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sleepless_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Westin Market Street in the past six months. On both occasions, we found good online deals that made the hotel hard to pass up.

First, the location is ideal. Close to Union Square, the Embarcadero and an easy walk to most downtown destinations, the location is hard to beat. With Market Street right out your front door, great dining and shopping is at your fingertips.

As for the hotel itself, we usually prefer boutiques when possible. We have stayed at a couple of different boutique hotels in SF, and we enjoy the more personal touch. Checking into the Westin was relatively quick and easy; however, with the high volume of visitors staying at the hotel, the staff avoids small talk and gets you on your way. No time to ask questions, just get your room key and go. While this certainly wasn't an issue, it was a reminder that in Westin Hotels you are more of a number.

The rooms have been consistently clean, spacious and comfortable. As Starwood Gold members, we are often upgraded to nicer rooms. At the Westin Market Street we were placed on the 24th floor with an excellent view of the city. While the room was spotless, the floor to ceiling window was filthy on the outside. Of course, this is hard to quibble about due to the difficulty in keeping these windows clean. Our heavenly beds were extremely comfortable and the furnishings were in great shape. Also, the rooms were very, very quiet.

It's hard to think of anything to offer as a genuine complaint at the Westin Market Street. Although the hotel lacks the charm and personality of a boutique hotel, it makes up for it with quality surroundings in a great location. If the prices are competitive in the future, we would likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to enjoy views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WileyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
369 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed here on two occasions and I have never been disappointed. The overall service at the Hotel is very good and the staff certainly go out of their way to accommodate the wishes and needs of their clients.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious. They are always impeccably cleaned. The gym, albeit small, is also useful and one can fit in a good workout.
The location of the hotel is also very good and one can reach the waterfront via a walk of around 10 minutes and AT&T park is also quite close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I choose this hotel because many of my colleagues were staying here and I thought it would be convenient to be in the same hotel. Ususally, I perfer to stay a few blocks away from Market / Moscone. I should have remained at the Grand Hyatt on Stockton for this part of my trip.

No major complaints. I just have had a much better experience elsewhere for similar rates. It seems like hotels are really stepping things up in the service department lately, and I didn't feel that same vibe at this hotel. Secondly, this property could use a bit of a refresh. It doesn't have the same upscale feel as most Westin properties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlearc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Seattlearc,
Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay. We are very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. We thrive to deliver superior customer service to all of our guests and our staff is very proud of the level of service they provide. I'm truly sorry that this effort did not translate to your stay. We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Be Well, Simone Harms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at this convenient downtown hotel for 5 days in mid-April with my wife and two teenage kids. Used Starwood points for two interconnecting rooms on the 18th floor. We loved the location. Can walk or use mass transit to most everywhere you want to go in the city (used GoogleMaps app on iPhone for walking and mass transit directions). Great restaurants within a short walk, too (Fang, Tropisueno, Lark Creek Steak). Enterprise car rental right a couple of blocks away and hotel valet service was very good, albeit pricey at $54 per night. Only thing we didn't love was the $25 per person buffet breakfast. Super convenient, but mediocre. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#30 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,726 reviews
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#67 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Property: Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at the Park Central San Francisco Hotel - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Central Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing