We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Starwood Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #59 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exceptional Starwood Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My favorite Starwood hotel in San Francisco other than st. Regis.
The staff here know how to treat guests. Polite, welcoming and always ready to help or amend mistakes.
The Le Meridien manager should stay here to learn what service means.
The beds are also very comfortable and the views great.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sleepless_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,330
    1,297
    488
    196
    106
See reviews for
605
850
206
1,262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Westin Market Street in the past six months. On both occasions, we found good online deals that made the hotel hard to pass up.

First, the location is ideal. Close to Union Square, the Embarcadero and an easy walk to most downtown destinations, the location is hard to beat. With Market Street right out your front door, great dining and shopping is at your fingertips.

As for the hotel itself, we usually prefer boutiques when possible. We have stayed at a couple of different boutique hotels in SF, and we enjoy the more personal touch. Checking into the Westin was relatively quick and easy; however, with the high volume of visitors staying at the hotel, the staff avoids small talk and gets you on your way. No time to ask questions, just get your room key and go. While this certainly wasn't an issue, it was a reminder that in Westin Hotels you are more of a number.

The rooms have been consistently clean, spacious and comfortable. As Starwood Gold members, we are often upgraded to nicer rooms. At the Westin Market Street we were placed on the 24th floor with an excellent view of the city. While the room was spotless, the floor to ceiling window was filthy on the outside. Of course, this is hard to quibble about due to the difficulty in keeping these windows clean. Our heavenly beds were extremely comfortable and the furnishings were in great shape. Also, the rooms were very, very quiet.

It's hard to think of anything to offer as a genuine complaint at the Westin Market Street. Although the hotel lacks the charm and personality of a boutique hotel, it makes up for it with quality surroundings in a great location. If the prices are competitive in the future, we would likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to enjoy views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WileyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
368 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed here on two occasions and I have never been disappointed. The overall service at the Hotel is very good and the staff certainly go out of their way to accommodate the wishes and needs of their clients.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious. They are always impeccably cleaned. The gym, albeit small, is also useful and one can fit in a good workout.
The location of the hotel is also very good and one can reach the waterfront via a walk of around 10 minutes and AT&T park is also quite close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I choose this hotel because many of my colleagues were staying here and I thought it would be convenient to be in the same hotel. Ususally, I perfer to stay a few blocks away from Market / Moscone. I should have remained at the Grand Hyatt on Stockton for this part of my trip.

No major complaints. I just have had a much better experience elsewhere for similar rates. It seems like hotels are really stepping things up in the service department lately, and I didn't feel that same vibe at this hotel. Secondly, this property could use a bit of a refresh. It doesn't have the same upscale feel as most Westin properties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlearc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Seattlearc,
Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay. We are very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. We thrive to deliver superior customer service to all of our guests and our staff is very proud of the level of service they provide. I'm truly sorry that this effort did not translate to your stay. We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Be Well, Simone Harms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at this convenient downtown hotel for 5 days in mid-April with my wife and two teenage kids. Used Starwood points for two interconnecting rooms on the 18th floor. We loved the location. Can walk or use mass transit to most everywhere you want to go in the city (used GoogleMaps app on iPhone for walking and mass transit directions). Great restaurants within a short walk, too (Fang, Tropisueno, Lark Creek Steak). Enterprise car rental right a couple of blocks away and hotel valet service was very good, albeit pricey at $54 per night. Only thing we didn't love was the $25 per person buffet breakfast. Super convenient, but mediocre. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The disappointment.
This property is a former ANA hotel rebranded as a Westin. I looked forward to staying in one of the "corner" rooms to enjoy a San Francisco views from the two walls that formed the corner as depicted on the Westin website. When we checked-in we were cheerfully informed that we had been upgraded and, upon my specific inquiry, were assured that it was a "corner" room. Disappointingly, our room had no window "corner." It was a small awkward triangular room next to the "corner" room in the website - I discovered this on the day we checked-out when I could see into the room next to us which was being cleaned and had the "corner" windows. Frankly, I felt we had been downgraded and charged the higher booked price. Moral: if you have specific expectations for a hotel experience, red flags should wave in your head when you are told that you are being upgraded.
The positives.
- easy access from BART, SF Bay bridge, Highway 101
- good location for accessing the muni and BART. It is midway between the Powell St. station and the Montgomery St. station.
- just two blocks up Geary to Union Square
- a short block from several museums: Museum of Modern Art, Contemporary Jewish Museum, Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, Museum of Craft and Folk Art, AMC Metreon movie theater complex.
- Walking distance to the Orpheum theatre, Golden Gate theatre, Exploratorium, Giants ballpark
- Parking lot across the street, although we used the lot on 4th and Mission one block away.
- firm high mattress
- nice view, but it's better on higher ground at the Westin St. Francis and Grand Hyatt San Francisco
- friendly service
The negatives.
- small room and bathroom
- no towel racks in the bathroom to hang towels from
- towels and linens had a rough texture
- guest room doors nearby closed loudly
- HVAC continued to make noises even after it was turned off; eventually it was silent
- we were awakened both nights by sirens on the street. There is a fire station a few blocks away on Howard by the W hotel
- slow elevator system; no separation for high and low floors

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiedmontWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Piedmont Walker,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We try to ensure every guest has a wonderful visit with us and I'm sorry that this did not happen on your visit. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence into our beautiful property. It would be my pleasure to personally assist you with your reservation. Don't hesitate to contact me directly at sharms@westinsf.com.
Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Clean and simple, this hotel has everything you need and nothing extra to get in the way. Bed was very comfortable with tons of white pillows. Our view was incredible! Going out at night was super convenient since its located in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,361 reviews
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#29 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Property: Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at the Park Central San Francisco Hotel - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Park Central Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing