We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean rooms, great service*, amazing beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #61 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean rooms, great service*, amazing beds”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My parents (for business) and I (for fun) stayed at Westin San Francisco Market Street for 4 nights at the end of October. The reservation was in my name, but my flight was getting in after my parents, so I was a little worried about issues with checking in and room upgrade (gold status with SPG). I shouldn't have as the check in process was smooth and upgrade was offered without having to request it.

Hotel is close to SFO airport. It took me 55 minutes sharp plane door to hotel room door by taking BART (there is a station within a block from hotel) and 25-30 minutes by cab ($40-50).

The room was nice, clean, and spacious (though a bit outdated) and perfectly suitable for business trip. The . Because of the upgrade it was located on a high floor reserved for SPG members and had a beautiful view of downtown SF with the bay and Alcatraz in the background. Beds were amazing and very comfortable to sleep in.

There is a gym, which has all the necessary equipment, but it's nothing to write home about. However, Westin partnered up with Four Seasons to provide daily gym passes ($27/day). FS gym description looked awesome.

There were several small annoyances, but the management fixed them all (some sooner, some later).

1) TV. Sound worked fine, but there was no video. We complained several times, and hotel promised to send an engineer to fix the problem, but he never showed up. Manager was apologetic about the problem and offered 2500 SPG points as compensation.

2) Internet fee ($15/day). Is it really necessary to charge $15/day internet fee in this day and age? I complained and the charge disappeared from the final bill. YMMV.

3) Aggressive maids. I think they started banging on the door each morning at 8am.

As I mentioned before, all the issues were solved (I wonder if Gold SPG status mattered?) and I received several emails from different managers making sure everything was OK.

Do choose this hotel for it's amazing location and high quality service. That said, Palace Hotel, which is next door (also part of Starwood network, but under Luxury Collection brand), offers rooms for the same price as Westin.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRedBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    1,324
    501
    206
    115
See reviews for
621
878
213
1,293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I am a fan of the Westin brand; but this hotel wasn't quite all I expected. I booked on Priceline, and when I checked-in learned that they always request handicap-accessible rooms. The front desk upgraded me to a higher room with a better view; but left me in the handicap accessible room (despite me asking if that should be reserved for someone who needed those features). The room itself was quite small; hardly any walking room on the other side of the bed. The closet was too short to hang my pants and dresses without them dragging on the floor. Since the shower did not have a tub, the bathroom floor flooded with each shower.

The staff was very friendly, from the front desk, concierge, and housekeeping staff. The room was also very clean. I got a dessert to go at the restaurant (Dulca? I don't remember the name). I was allowed to take the plate and utensils, as they "don't package desserts to go). It was not very good, and as all hotel restaurants tend to be, expensive.

The tv channels were limited. I got 3 different ESPNs, but no MTV (though there was a channel with Girls Gone Wild footage...). There was a fee for wi-fi, which I find to be ridiculous for a $200+ a night room. The bed and bedding was marvelous, as Westin promises. The location was nice; with easy access to Bart/Muni/Cable cars stops. I loved the city and will return; though I may not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights--best thing was the location for easy access to city transportation.
Easy and convenient to take the BART from San Francisco Airport to the nearby station on Montgomery St.—takes about 30 minutes and costs $8.10. Station for BART and MUNI is about 2 blocks away--as is the Visitor's Center and the turnaround for two of the cable car lines. The F Streetcar runs in front of the hotel, and you can take it to Fisherman's Wharf area. Best deal is to buy a MUNI pass--good for all MUNI trains, busses, and cable cars. Moscone Center and Yerba Buena Gardens are near nearby. The bed and pillows were great. Although there was what appeared to be a permanent yellow stain in the bathtub, everything was very clean and the maid was great! Staff was very friendly and helpful, except for concierge who was no help at all. We asked for a mini fridge because the one in the room is fully stocked with expensive drinks, liquor, etc.—no room to put your own things. There is also a tray stocked with extremely expensive snacks which are charged to your bill 10 seconds after you pick one up—just don’t touch!! Charge for Wi-Fi-$15 a day!

Room Tip: Be aware that if you book through Expedia the hotel has “Expedia rooms” only on lower floors-floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sra2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here in Sept. 2011 when we visited SF to attend Hardly Strictly Bluegrass in Golden Gate park.

This hotel is located in the Downtown/Financial district. Lots of restaurants, shopping, art and culture nearby. Valet is speedy, check-in quick and efficient, bar and restaurant on-property. Our room was on the 11th floor and had great views of the City. The staff was friendly and helpful. Buffet brunch is served on Sundays, but you can order off the menu, too.

Close to public transit (BART and buses), and taxis are waiting to take you to your destination. It's best to valet your car and take advantage of other transportation in SF since street parking is very difficult to find, and parking lots are pricy... and parking tickets even more expensive.

I would recommend this place to family and friends. Also, it's close to Moscone Center for business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights for a b-day trip. Overall no complaints. The hotel was in walking disctance from Union Square, BART and trolley. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktattai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a great hotel for a getaway to SanFrancisco. Although there are a few things that I would improve about the St Francis, like the lobby bar (I still miss the compass rose) but overall I think this hotel has the best location for Christmas shopping and taking in the pleasures of Union Square. My favorite thing to do is to squeeze into the bar at lefty odoul's which is right across the street, order a Manhattan and watch a ball game. A friendly bar in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddog322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Downtown area for much less than others and well worth the price per room. Room was large and comfy - hotel is located right downtown and within minutes to everything. Street trolleys and BART station are within a short walk as as shops and restaurants and Chinatown. Large bar and restaurant on site with outside patio area for dining in nicer weather. Front desk and Concierge was very helpful in recommending places to see and where to eat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 228 in San Francisco
4,924 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,874 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#66 of 228 in San Francisco
2,125 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Property: Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at the Park Central San Francisco Hotel - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Central Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing