We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown SF for an affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Central San Francisco
Ranked #63 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Downtown area for much less than others and well worth the price per room. Room was large and comfy - hotel is located right downtown and within minutes to everything. Street trolleys and BART station are within a short walk as as shops and restaurants and Chinatown. Large bar and restaurant on site with outside patio area for dining in nicer weather. Front desk and Concierge was very helpful in recommending places to see and where to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,661 - 2,667 of 3,689 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Westin San Francisco Market Street a few days ago and enjoyed great views of the city, great service, and a good night's sleeep. This may very well be one of my favorite Westins. Therooms are clean and look new; there are great views from the rooms on the higher floors; the lobby is very nice; great central location. We had breakfast in the room and the eggs Benedict were terrific! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Higest floors are better for great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ploosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I recently stayed at the Westin on Market for 5 nights for a conference, being held the Moscone Center. Let me start by saying the first lady we encountered at the front desk was extremely friendly and did her best to make us feel as welcome as possible. She even gave us 2 vouchers for breakfast the next morning. It basically goes downhill from there.

The first night we were in a corner room. Extremely small room shaped like a V, with an even smaller bathroom. Although be view was ok, definitely not worth it on the lower floors. The next day they moved us to a Starwood preferred guest floor with a king size bed. The room was a little roomier, with a desk, and 42" LCD TV. The bathroom was a normal size, but no big by any stretch. The room seemed very dated, like it hasn't been renovated in about 15years. The bathroom much the same, not what I expect from a Westin charging upwards of over $300. The sad part is they only gave 2 towels, and 1 piece of soap, again not what I expect for $300 a night.

The other things that I find sad is that such an expensive hotel really rapes you when it comes to parking and internet. Internet is about $15/day, and parking is nearly $50 a day, more expensive than the rental car itself. If you are smart, you will park in the parking garage across the street where the parking is $21/day.

Using the 1 complimentary breakfast voucher we got, I did enjoy the breakfast buffet at Ducca. The buffet is huge with a large assortment of food and drinks. The other nice thing about the hotel is it is center to all the downtown activities. Moscone center is only 2 blocks away. There is a great breakfast place call The Grove, across the street. There are a multitude of restaurants in the surrounding area.

Overall, will likely not stay here again when in SF. If it was $100-150, it would be acceptable. Westin in my mind holds a higher standard, and this hotel does not fulfill that.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor and avoid the corner room unless you don't mind a very cramped room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desi_traveler_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed here for three nights while in San Francisco and I think that this is one of my more favorite Westins.

The good: rooms are in great shape - very clean and look new; great views from the rooms on the higher floors; nice lobby; great central location.

The ok: very busy hotel on a very busy street so if you are driving here, keep that in mind; auto valet was convenient but very expensive ($48/night plus tax).

The bad: nothing

One tip in regards to parking. There is a garage directly across the street that charges $20/night. If you don't need in/out privileges and are ok with lugging your luggage across the street to the hotel it's a good option.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuggets00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel several times and just had the pleasure of staying Oct. 18th-20th. The room was really nice and as always, had the floor to ceiling windows. I was on the 21st floor in a double room. The room and bathroom were quite large and the bed was wonderful. The staff was exceptionally friendly, down to the the cleaning lady on my floor. I had trouble with my room key and she kindly came over and helped. When I was leaving the room for the last time with my luggage she was down the hall. As I turned the corner I heard her call out a greeting to me. The checkin was very pleasant, the valets were happy and friendly. We had great service in the bar and lobby area. I love this place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Great beds and fabulous location with Bart nearby. Rooms were comfy and had a great view on the 19th floor. The downside was the concierge service. Although their food picks were often decent they were just incompetent at directions and most other types of information. Each time they gave us directions they were not only wrong but seriously underestimated walking times by a factor of 2 or even 3. They sold these poor fellow conference attendees hop on hop off bus tickets and told them the last bus was at 6Pm when in fact it was 5pm. Concierge service is supposed to be the top service source for a hotel and they were basically incompetent. Nice hotel, avoid the concierge service at all costs.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chowdog65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The wife and I stayed here on October 21. Hotel lobby is beautiful and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room, however, was absolutely tiny. It's pretty much a bed and four walls, with no floor space to spare. The website advertises great views with floor to ceiling windows, but obviously not all rooms have this feature. Our room had two small dingy windows that looked out on the side of a building (5th floor). Bathroom tub wouldn't hold water for a bath.
Very clean though, which is always nice.
The location is amazing, but overall, for the price I payed, I think my money would be better spent elsewhere in the area that would have had the same location benefits.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a high floor. The room might not be any bigger, but you might actually get that v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExistenceNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
5,912 reviews
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#62 of 230 in San Francisco
753 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,370 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central San Francisco

Address: 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $161 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Central San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at The Park Central San Francisco - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Park Central San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing