We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Tour of the Bay”

Red and White Fleet
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1892, the family-owned Red and White Fleet is San Francisco's original sightseeing adventure and only multilingual sightseeing cruise. All of Red and White Fleet's cruises depart from Pier 43½ at the end of Taylor Street, in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf.Sail under the Golden Gate and around Alcatraz aboard the 1-hr Golden Gate Bay Cruise featuring headphone audio about San Francisco sights and history in 12 languages; 8-12 daily cruises starting at 10AM. Or enjoy amazing sunset views, live music and hearty appetizers aboard the relaxed 2-hr California Sunset Cruise with sailings from April-October. Winter departures are offered aboard the California Twilight Cruise from November through March.The 90-min Bridge 2 Bridge Cruise promises spectacular views of the entire San Francisco skyline, from the Golden Gate Bridge all the way to the Bay Bridge with year-round sailings. Tours feature headphone audio in 12 languages.Red and White Fleet also offers a variety of tours on land for sale, from hop-on hop-off tours, to motor coach excursions to the Napa & Sonoma Wine Country, Monterey & Carmel, Muir Woods & Sausalito, and Yosemite.
USA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very Nice Tour of the Bay”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We took the Bridge to Bridge tour that lasted 90 minutes. It loops around under the Golden Gate, around Alcatraz, and under the Bay Bridge before returning to Fisherman's Wharf. As others have said the narration is very good, easy to hear and quite informative. We took the 2:15 tour and they had the bar open for libations. We didn't know that and had stopped over at the Boudin Bakery complex where they had cold beer and wine in their coolers, and even opened them for us.

The boats are big and comfy, you can go outside, it was windy. Or you can stay inside and still see everything. Well worth the time and money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 52761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    262
    45
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a great excursion”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We recently went to San Francisco and had a groupon coupon for the red and white fleet. We took the Golden Gate tour and what an incredible experience! The views of the city, bridge and Alcatraz were breathtaking. The trip was one of the highlights of our trip. Well worth the price of the ticket for unrivaled views!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ediness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great start to our San Francisco trip”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We hadn't planned this tour but after arriving in San Fran unprepared we came across this 1 hour boat trip and going on it was the best decision we made.
It gave us a great overview of San Francisco. The audio was interesting and informative, it was also really clear and easy to understand. The staff just walked up to us and offered to take our photo in front of the sights (there was only 2 of us so difficult to get pics together). We got to see the main attractions that bought us to this city.
It was great value and lucky for us a beautiful sunny day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank losha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cruise/tour”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We took the "bridge 2 bridge" cruise that took us to both the Golden Gate and Oakland bridges. All together we were about 90 minutes on the water. A great experience and view of the 2 bridges, Alcatraz as well as the S F skyline and piers.
The audio guide was available in several languages and gave interesting information without getting boring.
There was a full bar on board charging very reasonable prices.

Overall very good value for money and a great way to explore the city from a different side, also if you Cannon spend too long in town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedandWhite43, Manager at Red and White Fleet, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello Edwin,

We are so glad you hear you had a fabulous day on the Bay. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope you come try out one of our other cruises in the near future. Have you thought about taking our California Sunset Cruise? If you come starting August, you will also get a chance to see a glimpse of the Bay Lights Project on the Bay Bridge, oh it really is a whole different experience!

Hope to see you on board again soon,

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect for a bright day and a little time”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hopped on with a AAA discount when we only had a few hours in town. Was a glorious day, and the time on the water was terrific. The narration on the headphones followed our trip well, and while a little corny at times, gave a great historical overview of the whole city in a way that was easy to hear over the wind.

Didn't try snacking or going to the bathroom... but both were available.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmyP2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red and White Fleet also viewed

 

Been to Red and White Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing