We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice tour”

Red and White Fleet
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1892, the family-owned Red and White Fleet is San Francisco's original sightseeing adventure and only multilingual sightseeing cruise. All of Red and White Fleet's cruises depart from Pier 43½ at the end of Taylor Street, in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf.Sail under the Golden Gate and around Alcatraz aboard the 1-hr Golden Gate Bay Cruise featuring headphone audio about San Francisco sights and history in 12 languages; 8-12 daily cruises starting at 10AM. Or enjoy amazing sunset views, live music and hearty appetizers aboard the relaxed 2-hr California Sunset Cruise with sailings from April-October. Winter departures are offered aboard the California Twilight Cruise from November through March.The 90-min Bridge 2 Bridge Cruise promises spectacular views of the entire San Francisco skyline, from the Golden Gate Bridge all the way to the Bay Bridge with year-round sailings. Tours feature headphone audio in 12 languages.Red and White Fleet also offers a variety of tours on land for sale, from hop-on hop-off tours, to motor coach excursions to the Napa & Sonoma Wine Country, Monterey & Carmel, Muir Woods & Sausalito, and Yosemite.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We took the family on the Bridge to Bridge tour on a sunny day. Great views of the bridges, Alcatraz and the skyline. The America's Cup boats are beginning to practice in the area and we had close up views of the crews as the catamarans whizzed past. The kite surfers in the Bay were great too. Narration through headsets available in multiple languages, and was surprisingly informative even for me who grew up in the area and has spent considerable time in and around San Francisco.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    263
    45
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
435 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“An easy hour around the bay and alcatraz.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Used a groupon for $26 for the 2 of us. Headphones given with translations in about 10 languages for a guided talk. An easy hour around the bay, under the bridge and alongside Alcatraz. Bar on board if you can't go without a drink or snacks for an hour!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank drdanielmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Harbor Tour I've Been On”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is one of the best harbor tours I have encountered. The usual narration is over a public address system and ad-libbed by a smart aleck kid. This was professionally done and broadcast over headphones which helped keep out the wind sound you always encounter on a moving boat. There was a lot of thought that went into the narration and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The boat was slow enough to be able to compose pictures, but not so slow that the ride became monotonous. I shot a lot of photographs of the scenery and the people on board.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TBBXRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedandWhite43, General Manager at Red and White Fleet, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear TBBXRR,
I wanted to extend a big thank you for the nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time onboard with us. We did put quite a bit of effort into our audio tour, so I am glad that you liked the narrative.

Wishing you all the best,


Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Started yet again on a cloudy morning. Did not think weather would improve, but sun came out.
Myst have taken 50+ pictures if the bridge, thank god for the digital age.
Trip takes you under the bridge and back past Alcatraz.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedandWhite43, General Manager at Red and White Fleet, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Jan,
these are great pictures, and I would like to thank you for sharing them along with your review here on Tripadvisor. We hope you enjoyed your visit to San Francisco!

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Views views views”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had a groupon for the bridge tour and I'm so glad we did. The views from the boat are breathtaking. We went under the golden gate and around Alcatraz. There were not a lot of people on our boat but people were really nice and everyone was taking pictures for each other. the headset commentary was an added bonus bc I didn't know it was included but it was very interesting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedandWhite43, General Manager at Red and White Fleet, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hello Missy M!
Thanks for the nice feedback on Tripadvisor. I'm happy to hear you had a great time, but would like to apologize that we didn't communicate more clearly from the start that our headphone audio is included in the cruise - there are 12 languages to choose from for our guests. We'll look at ways to incorporate this more clearly. All the best!

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red and White Fleet also viewed

 

Been to Red and White Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing