We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in San Fran for a tourist! absolutely beautiful!”

Red and White Fleet
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1892, the family-owned Red and White Fleet is San Francisco's original sightseeing adventure and only multilingual sightseeing cruise. All of Red and White Fleet's cruises depart from Pier 43½ at the end of Taylor Street, in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf.Sail under the Golden Gate and around Alcatraz aboard the 1-hr Golden Gate Bay Cruise featuring headphone audio about San Francisco sights and history in 12 languages; 8-12 daily cruises starting at 10AM. Or enjoy amazing sunset views, live music and hearty appetizers aboard the relaxed 2-hr California Sunset Cruise with sailings from April-October. Winter departures are offered aboard the California Twilight Cruise from November through March.The 90-min Bridge 2 Bridge Cruise promises spectacular views of the entire San Francisco skyline, from the Golden Gate Bridge all the way to the Bay Bridge with year-round sailings. Tours feature headphone audio in 12 languages.Red and White Fleet also offers a variety of tours on land for sale, from hop-on hop-off tours, to motor coach excursions to the Napa & Sonoma Wine Country, Monterey & Carmel, Muir Woods & Sausalito, and Yosemite.
hadley rille
Level Contributor
303 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Best value in San Fran for a tourist! absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

must do attraction while in san fran!! goes under the GG bridge then around alcatraz. beautiful city views!! i've done 3 times!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedandWhite43, Manager at Red and White Fleet, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for such a great review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Bay with the Red and White Fleet. Have you been on all three of our cruises? If not, I would recommend our California Sunset Cruise/California Twilight Cruise (during the winter months), and enjoy two hours on the Bay with live music, appetizers and a complimentary drink.
Thanks again and come back soon!

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    263
    46
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked the Twilight cruise several weeks before we arrived in SF. First of all, it was not Twilight, it was pitch black and hard to see the sites from the boat. Part of the appeal of the cruise for us was we would get to go under the Golden Gate. However, I stayed at our seats to reserve them and my husband went downstairs to get our two free drinks. The line was so long, he missed the boat going under the Golden Gate Bridge, twice! We were both upset.
The food was okay. Some people treated it as dinner but we treated it as a snack. They booked Cowboy Bob to do some entertainment on the boat tour. He was a nice guy but I cannot say his music appealed to the masses. Cowboy Bob played a lot of twangy country songs. Not exactly for the younger crowd.
The worst part of the tour is there was NO information provided about the sites we were seeing. At one point we stopped in front of Alcatraz and a recorded statement came on the speakers, but the volume was so low we couldn't hear it at all. We didn't know what we were looking at and it was frustrating.
The staff seemed nice enough in checking us in and on the boat. They were mostly attentive to the customers. However, when we were in line to get on the boat, we were second in line. The first person in line let 14 people in front of us. Yes, I counted. 14 people. The staff sat there and watched this happen. I even saw them speaking to each other about it. We were stuck in line and could not complain as we had to reserve our place in line and the staff was over 50 feet away. Why could the staff not speak up and tell them to get in the back of the line? Argh.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedandWhite43, Manager at Red and White Fleet, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello Brianne,

I would like to thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your experience did not turn out the way you had hoped. In lieu of your review we have decided to increase the staffing levels at our bars, reviewing our live entertainment options, making adjustments to our public address system, and reviewing boarding policies with our staff. If you are still in the city, let us know and we would love offer you and your husband a tour on one of our day time cruises with personal audio receivers.

Best Regards,
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overrated...”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was probably the most overrated thing we did in San Fran. I thought it would be a nice architectural/ informative tour (similar to the one in Chicago - which is GREAT) but it was nothing like it.

We went and stood in line 30 mins. prior to boarding to ensure we have a good seat. We headed to the top and had killer spots. Once the tour began everyone on the boat in the middle seats got up and went to railing right in front of us so we couldn't see a thing. The poor kids sitting next to us couldn't see anything since everyone was standing right in front us of. It was a shame because there are some great opportunities of awesome Golden Gate Shots but again never could get them because everyone was standing...

There is no staff on the boat to tell people to sit down. It was a complete waste of money. Not to mention it was a tour with nasty used headphones and a prerecorded tour...so it was very vague and un engaging. I am sure there are better tours out there for the money.

I would not recommend this one...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnieVW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic Beach, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit of History”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I bought the Wharf Pass coupon book to get a good value for many attractions. This cruise was an option in the Wharf Pass which turned out to be delightful. The boat sails around Alcatraz (which was fine for me since I really didn't have a genuine interest to see the inside). The journey takes you to the Golden Gate Bridge and back. Since it was rather chilly the day of the cruise, my son & I stayed on the lower deck (next to the bar) and used the Audio to listen to the history of landmarks that we passed by. Just let the ship mates know which language you prefer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mineya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedandWhite43, General Manager at Red and White Fleet, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thanks so much for your nice review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your Golden Gate Bay Cruise with us. We recently left the Wharf Pass program, so going forward, anyone interested in taking a cruise with us, wouldn't be able to do so thru Wharf Pass. Another great attraction pass that this cruise is included in is the Go San Francisco Card.

Wishing you all the best and Happy Travels,


Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
787 reviews
271 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I took a Bay Cruise on our honeymoon. We didn't know much about the city, so it was nice to get that bit of history as we sailed out to the Golden Gate Bridge and back. Alcatraz was sold out for all of the days we were there, so it was also nice that we got to see it and sail around the island. With the cruise only being an hour long, it didn't take up our entire day and was very enjoyable!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedandWhite43, General Manager at Red and White Fleet, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Congratulations on your honeymoon! It's good to know that you and your husband had a chance to "sail" into this new part of your life together, and I'm happy to see that it created some memorable moments for you. Thanks for the nice feedback, and we would like to wish you all the best!

Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red and White Fleet also viewed

 

Been to Red and White Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing