We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New owner - great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of J Tu Cafe

J Tu Cafe
Ranked #3,801 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Union Square
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New owner - great food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The soup was amazing. Service was very quick and overall the restaurant was very good. The new owner came out and visited with us. He was very invested in our meal and discussed planned improvements. We would definitely give this place a try in the future!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tigergirluscmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor Service; cold food.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I want to start off by saying this was the second time in a year that I ate at this resaurant and unfortunately I did not learn from my first experience :( Like the first time service was slow, it took the waitress a good 7-10 minute to acknowledge us after we sat. Furthermore, after being acknoledged it took another 10 minutes to get our drink order. Finally, we get our breakfast order and half of the order was cold; for both of us. The poor service also came with an attitude to match. I have learned from this second experience, I will not be going back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayson_Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Don't waste your time and money there”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Horrible service. I might as well jump in the kitchen and made it myself. Server was rude, kept forgetting our water and kept on saying "water is comin" food was cold when it finally arrived. I would've been happier at macdonalds

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Criswalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value and quick service”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had all the basics for a good breakfast, quick service and clean appearance. Opened early and very reasonably priced. Good value for your money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank midwestlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauula, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Persimmon was SOUR”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Decor looked good from a distance but up close it was dirty & dusty. Staff didn't seem to want to be there.
Food arrived cold and with NO flair at all.
Coffee drinks terrible, even coffee wasn't good.
WILL NOT RETURN. Should have stayed in long line at Sears Cafe.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Tu Cafe also viewed

 

Been to J Tu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing