We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast place near Union Square”
Review of J Tu Cafe

J Tu Cafe
Ranked #3,839 of 5,715 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Union Square
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place near Union Square”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had two breakfast meals here in August when staying near Union Square. I found the food decent and satisfying. I had an omelet with hash browns and fruit one morning and pancakes with a side of bacon the second. Both meals were fresh and tasty. Coffee was good, and service attentive and friendly. The kitchen seemed a little slow, but we were no hurry so happy to relax and sip our coffee. Mediterranean decor was quaint in the heart of downtown SF.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CA_wanderer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was looking for a good place to have breakfast. It seems good and not too expensive.
But the tea cup comes with a lipstick mark, the harshvrown was not fresh and i am assuming that the hollandaise sauce over my benedict eggs was not either.
Forget about it, rather spend your money in another place!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An oasis for breakfast”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Breakfast around Union Square revolves around the famous Sears, hotels and Starbucks. We found Persimmon a block or two away as a quiet oasis to plan the day. The breakfast menu is inventive (but traditional too if you want) and is very fresh. The coffee is great. Fresh is a real asset in tourist world.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hikergourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unimpressive, BLAH”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Service was good but the food was bland. It is listed as greek but we think Mediterranean would be a better description. I don;t think they had any garlic in their food, I didn't even finish my glass of house white wine, Definitely not a place we would recommend althought the location is convenient to Union Square. If you are looking for tasty food or greek food, go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tusenkatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mafra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hospitable and Accommodating "Mediterranean Kitchen"”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were looking for a restaurant with patio dining--not always easy in San Francisco--because of our pet, and came across Persimmon. While nothing was outstanding per se, the Greek salad with chicken was delicious, and the lovely hostess/waitperson, the epitome of hospitality. Their very extensive menu offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, many desserts, beer, wine and pretty much any coffee drink you might want. Reasonably priced, they provide free delivery with $25.00 minimum order. We'd return if back in this section of the Bay Area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TriciaPimental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Tu Cafe also viewed

 

Been to J Tu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing