We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Perbacco

Perbacco
Reserve with OpenTable
Perbacco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Battery
Transit: Bart: Montgomery station. Muni: Market and 1st St. stops.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Outstanding food and service, do not miss the piastra roasted octopus - it's to die for!
Four of us dined at Perbacco, the first time for all. We started with the octopus, risotto and Hamachi. The octopus was brilliantly roasted with a wonderful texture, the risotto fragrant and cooked just right. We felt the Hamachi was a bit on the 'blah' side, but good nontheless. Our entrees consisted of the Branzino (cooked to perfection), the seared sea scallops (delicious), Cunij (braised rabbit - AHmazing!) and the truffle crusted short ribs (Brasato - incredible). We were delighted to see the restaurant offered one of our favorite white wines - Stag's Leap Karia. We finished our culinary experience with dessert: the candied hazlenut cake, and the vanilla white chocolate mousse. Did we die and go to dessert heaven? Both were delightfully fresh and just a tad bit decadent. Much to our delight, we were offered four hazlenut cookies wrapped in a deliciously light meringue. Naturally, we did not turn them down!
Several reviewers stated the tables are a bit close together. This is true, but never once did we feel like any other conversations were encroaching on ours. Perbacco is a must, a truly memorable dining experience. Not only is the food well above mark, the staff is top notch and should be commended for their excellence.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliGal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    222
    60
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great italian food, many options beside the traditional pasta's and pizzas. Nice wine list! Super friendly staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Looking for an intimate dining experience?”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Perbacco is a very trendy San Francisco eatery steps from two famous establishments, Michael Mina's and Tadish Grill so you know this place has to be good. It is very good. However, real estate is expensive in SF and they pack you at Perbacco with tables so close you can engage in multiple conversations with nearby diners. So if you are looking for an intimate romantic dinner, keep looking.

Let's rate what we ate: 1)warm and cool pear salad - delightful and refreshing, 2)pappardelle in short rib ragu - tasty but very small portion even for the "full" order, 3)short rib entree - very tender almost worth the $27 price tag, 4)brown sugar gelato - nice, 5)burnt caramel gelato - fantastic deserving of 5 stars.

One important tip, if you want bread, you have to ask for it. The waiter will not volunteer this information but it is contained in fin print on the daily menu.

Overall, good restaurant, but loud and overpriced even for San Francisco.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Why go out for pasta? At Perbacco one can truly experience the essence of Northern Italian cuisine and the appreciation of fresh-made pasta and sauce. We had a wonderful Christmas-week dinner at this beautiful restaurant. The service was attentive and not rushed though the restaurant was nearly full on a Monday night. There is an open kitchen to hold one's interest while waiting for appetizers and entrees to arrive. Diners ranged from the well-heeled and well-dressed to a family with a teen in tow still tuned in to his headphones. A glass of wine features a generous pour. The noise level can get high. Overall, we were impressed by the ambience, the service, and the food quality. And the cost. Not inexpensive, but to see what pricey is check out the menu at the Michael Mina restaurant next door. Tad larger entrees would have earned Perbacco a full five stars. (Yes, fine dining these days is all about small portions, but so what.)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martyb-tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful experiance”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is the second visit in as many years. The first time was without fault as to food and service so to see if it was a fluke a second visit was in order. It was no fluke! The service, ambiance, and the food were as expected. A very cosmopolitan setting suitable to downtown San Francisco.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perbacco also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Perbacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing