We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perbacco

Perbacco
Reserve with OpenTable
Perbacco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Battery
Transit: Bart: Montgomery station. Muni: Market and 1st St. stops.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
173 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Truly overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I expected a magnificent Italian dinner, but only the appetizer was outstanding, the main courses were ordinary at best. My wife's octopus appetizer was a sparkling dish. I ordered and enjoyed Vitello tornato.Based on the suggestion of the server my wife ordered the duck as her main course, I had the pasta pork sugo, On the server suggestion that it was one of their signature dishes. If I were the chef I would not sign-off On that dish. The sauce is ordinary, and the pasta terribly overcooked not even close to Al dente.

Helpful?
Thank Jefftimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    218
    59
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
207 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Good ambience, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very nice place, with good ambience, in the middle of Financial District.
I visited the place at evening to drink a glass of italian champagne. Very few people were at the place. The waiter looked to me, then I asked to be attended, and after a couple of minutes just asked me what to drink. I suppose is not the right way to serve a customer.

Anyway, an elegant place to experience in the Financial District.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank assaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Extreme North Coast of California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great waiter; however the food was not the best on any level. Perhaps our group chose the wrong items; the Gelato was the best part of the meal! Don't think we'll be going back again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank beaujangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Excellent Italian food! From the house made salami and cured meats, housemade pasta, slow cooked short ribs, rabbit, quail and duck, the menu is not something you would typically make at home and well worth the stop. The duck was amazing. Slow cooked pork shoulder with polenta was also excellent. Burrata cheese appetizer was a winner as was the sample plate of meats. Good wine by the glass and a full bar. Next to Michael Mina in the Financial District with valet parking in front for $10. Very reasonably priced for the quality of food and service. Vibrant atmosphere

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StanfordKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Second time's a charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The first time I dined at this restaurant was as part of a group dining event in the upper room. The food was uneven: the salad was dry but the scallop entree and dessert were above average. I ventured there again last night for a small business dinner in the open, very busy dining room. The back area is more amenable to conversation than the front area. This time, the food, including the seabass, papardelle and scallops were very good. The Italian wine list is unique and the wait staff, as before, very attentive. I would return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vanholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perbacco also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Perbacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing