We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$115
Priceline
$127
Algotels
$95
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveler rating
815
525
217
86
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
815
525
217
86
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union square great location nespresso machine boutique hotel geary street central location street noise light sleeper great room bed was comfortable around the corner bart station cable car floor city block hip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2019

Hotel G is the perfect home away from home in San Francisco for business or leisure. Great location steps from Union Square. Incredibly personable staff. The decor is minimalist but so chic…think Anthropologie meets Dwell Magazine: gorgeous denim tufted headboards, concrete floors & cool art from Creativity Explored (local artists with developmental disabilities). The secret bar on the mezzanine, Benjamin Cooper is the best hidden gem and the restaurant in the lobby has amazing seafood. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eefinnegan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelGSF, Manager at Hotel G San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to share the details of your experience! We are happy to be your Home Away From Home and look forward to your next visit to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located and perfect for tourists. The hotel robes are amazingly comfortable and all necessary amenities are provided. There is a reasonably priced mini bar. The room was relatively small but comfortable. On site they have a restaurant and a bar but we did not have time to try out either. Our stay was ruined by one member of staff who caused great inconvenience. The booking was in my name and upon check in we checked if my friends name needed to be logged but we were told it was not necessary. One evening my friend returned to the hotel before me and for her 2/3 time of our stay the keycard would not work. The receptionist refused to let her up to the room until I returned with my passport. This ruined my evening and left my friend stood in reception for quite some time. He refused to speak to me or FaceTime me for proof of identity. He was also very rude!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank tasha614
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelGSF, Manager at Hotel G San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Hello tasha614, thanks for taking a moment to share the details of your stay. Apologies for the room key malfunction, but for safety reasons we always want to ensure that keys are issued to the registered guest. It sounds like we could have done better at making sure everyone was registered during the check-in process. Your comments will be discussed in our future training sessions. We do hope to see you again and that you get the chance to enjoy Ayala and Benjamin Cooper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

We adored the style, layout, authenticity and comfort of our room at the Hotel G. It was central and a great setting off point for adventures in San Francisco.

However, the old lifts while charming we're malfunctioning and were stuck on our floor (9) over the 3 weekend nights resulting in loud and annoying dinging all night. We raised this every morning with staff and it didn't appear to resolve the issue. We ended up changing hotels for our last night in SFO.

It marred our otherwise lovely stay at Hotel G. I'd ensure you don't stay on Floor 9 or ask management if this issue has been resolved.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelGSF, Manager at Hotel G San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2019

Hello katfrawley, thank you for your feedback and comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Francisco. And rest assured, the vintage elevator button has been repaired with custom parts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

A lovely comfortable hotel with design & flair. The rooms had a comfy bed with robes and coffee machine. Also technology that you could ask any question, which was really useful for sightseeing etc. The only downside was the noise late at night, due to the area. Perhaps a room on a higher floor would have improved this.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Maps810124
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelGSF, Manager at Hotel G San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Hello and thank you for sharing the details of your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms and amenities. Our Union Square location can lend itself to the hustle and bustle of the city. We do provide earplugs and white noise machines for those guests who are sensitive to an urban environment. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019

I love my stay's at Hotel G. The staff is super hospitality focussed, the rooms are hip and quiet and the hotel is centrally located near Union Square. Ayala restaurant is a treasure with delicious cocktails and great food.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelGSF, Manager at Hotel G San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2019

Hello paulb, thanks so much for taking a moment to share your experience! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews