We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for light meal”
Review of Wichcraft - CLOSED

Wichcraft
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: SoMa
SF
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for light meal”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

It is the type of place where you fall in line, you order and they deliver to your table. It is spacious with a second floor for those who want to be away from the crowd. That is where we went. The staff is nice and are patient with customers. If you sit on the first floor, just mind that the sun might be strong in a sunny afternoon through the glass walls, ie if you sit near the glass walls. Vegetarians have options too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sudarshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    24
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exactly what it purports to be...a very tasty sandwich”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

On the face of it, Wichcraft is very simple: line up at the counter, order your sandwich/soup/whatever, and they bring it to you when it's done. And, on deeper investigation, that's it, and the sandwich is just as delicious as it sounds on the menu. Mine was turkey, bacon and avocado, which is a divine combination anyway, but the roll on which it was served was obviously very fresh, and the balsamic-sauteed onions were a very nice and unexpected touch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointing for a Tom Colicchio venture”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I walked by this on the way to my hotel and recognized that this was one of Tom Colicchio's places. Since I was travelling solo, I thought picking up a "gourmet" sandwich here and taking it back to my hotel would be a nice option.

I got the chicken salad sandwich. It came with chips and after tax was over $11.

I was hugely disappointed. The bread tasted like any bread that you buy at the supermarket. The chicken salad was quite bland. I expect gourmet sandwiches to be on bakery bread and be full of flavor. I wouldn't bother going back. There are far better choices in San Francisco.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stockholm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decidedly different sandwiches”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This restaurant is based on one in New York, I believe. They have many different sandwiched from standard fare and the menu varies by the day.

Excellent soups and salads as well. Nice environment for a respite during a busy convention.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank pthughes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great stop for coffee and a pastry”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Quick service even though it was packed every morning. Good coffee and pastries and a nice alternative to Starbucks.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank pkelly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wichcraft also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing