We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B & B in San Francisco”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Everything you read here is correct. John and Joan are hardworking and attentive hosts, with the instincts to put guests totally at their ease. Joan is a dab hand with eggs at breakfast (chèvre soufflé with poached strawberries, pancakes, scrambled with bacon) and the Tartine bread is to die for. Wonderful location in the Lower Height meant that the buzz of Hayes Street restaurants was a short walk after a long day downtown. No air con but we did not find the street noise over intrusive. Strongly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank EdwardK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 343 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I had a delightful stay at The Parsonage this past February. The location was ideal for us as it was walking distance to SF Jazz and some excellent restaurants. The Parsonage is a stunningly beautiful, older house with very comfortable accommodations. We stayed in the Julia Morgan Room which, though a bit small was very quiet and suited our needs perfectly. It also had a newly renovated bathroom. I can't say enough about the breakfasts which were ample and deliciously prepared. Each morning, in addition to the exceptional egg dishes that were created, we were treated to some of the most wonderful bread I'd eaten. It was from Tartine's which is reputed to be the best bakery in SF. Joan and John were excellent hosts. They were very helpful in orienting us to where we were going and provided great restaurant recommendations. We also enjoyed them as people as they were good storytellers and yet were not the sort of B&B hosts that hover and dominate the conversation. We fully intend to return to SF and will not hesitate to book another stay at The Parsonage.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We spent three nights in this absolutely exquisite home crammed with antiques and beautifully restored rooms. John and Joan were gracious hosts and we enjoyed a full breakfast each day--they are wizards with eggs and souffles, with the added treat of toast made from bread by incredible artisan bakeshop Tartine. It's convenient to bus transportation and the up-and-coming Mission District. The Parsonage is a highly civilized way to stay in San Francisco.

Room Tip: The Alma Spreckles Room is where we stayed, but all the rooms are beautiful. We had a working firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent three nights at The Parsonage earlier this month. The owners were away, but we were made to feel extremely welcome by Manabu who was taking care of the place for them; he was warm and friendly, offered us great advice on where to go and what to do in San Francisco and further afield. He also cooked the most delicious breakfasts - something different every day, and far better than you would get in most hotels.

I was a little nervous about our stay as I'm not very comfortable with dogs, but before letting us in Manabu checked whether we liked dogs and then made sure that we didn't have to interact with Pilar (the dog) after that. Our room was comfortable, if a little cold and noisy at night, but earplugs, blankets and heaters were provided. The communal lounge area is also lovely - the entire property has been decorated very well, and being able to chat to other guests over breakfasts made mornings more interesting than usual.

The Parsonage is well located for the restaurants of Castro and The Mission - you can walk to both easily, and is close to buses and the trolley which will both take you to downtown. Given how expensive hotels in San Francisco seemed to be when we were looking, this was a good option for us, and we'd definitely recommend it to our friends. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel recalls the splendour of the nineteenth century with lots of antiques in a turn of the century terrace house.
Although the website claims that it is open from 4.00pm, I had to wait a couple of hours on the doorstep until someone came to let me inn. The absence overseas may explain this slackness.
The breakfasts were memorable, although cooking smells permeate the building from around 06.30.
The central location of the hotel is convenient for access to the downtown area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zanzibar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you go to San Francisco, stay at The Parsonage!! Strongly recommended because it adds something special to your trip. Everything was wonderful, the Victorian house, it's owners, Joan and John and the breakfasts they served us. John even made the most delicious breakfasts without gluten and lactose. Stay there, You will not regret it!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Borgergade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Believe the positive reviews! Great location, lovely hosts, and wonderful breakfasts.
Most importantly to our family was the lovely friendly dog, and lots of little extras that make you feel welcome. It is in a safe area to take transit (highly recommend the Muni transit passes for the buses, cable cars and street cars), and great restaurants only three blocks away. Easy to go exploring and walking. Easy walk to Japantown (if you have anyone that loves Anime!) and the Opera house. Very easy to jump on and off buses. Stayed for a week and it felt like home.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Lots of locals arguing outside in the wee hours when we were there, but what can you do? Acknowledge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindiana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
5,381 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
986 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
444 reviews
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
230 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 198 Haight St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $220 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage is an architectural treasure in the heart of San Francisco's historic Hayes Valley, within easy walking distance of the opera house and some of the city's most dynamic restaurants. The elegant bedrooms have excellent queen beds, multiple pillows, superior linens, a marble shower, and good light; some have working fireplaces and/or views; one has a Victorian claw-footed bathtub. With superb access to public transportation, it is within blocks of highway 101, and walking distance of BART. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Parsonage Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing