We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in San Francisco”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I loved The Parsonage B&B. It has beautiful Victorian antiques, very nice rooms, and a great breakfast. It is in a quiet neighborhood away from downtown San Francisco. There was wonderful shopping and dining nearby on Hayes Street. Downtown San Francisco was easily accessible by street car or bus from the B&B. The owners (John and Joan) were outstanding hosts. We stayed at The Parsonage from Dec 26-29. My wife and I highly recommend The Parsonage B&B while visiting San Francisco!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 343 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had nothing short of a 5 stay stay at The Parsonage. From the minute we arrived to the time we left, nothing was a hassle. We had a beautiful, large room with a great view and a mattress to die for. Don't miss the amazing home cooked breakfasts!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobygeorgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I will just chime in to second (and third and fourth and fifth....) all the previous terrific reviews -- they are all true. First, the location is great-- like a number of other reviewers, I picked The Parsonage primarily for its location in Hayes Valley, where my daughter lives. I think, however, that it would be a great place to stay regardless of whether you have a child nearby. The immediate neighborhood is intimate, vibrant, youthful, very attractive, has lots of restaurants and interesting small shops. In fact, our best meals were had right on Laguna Street. (The Lebanese restaurant a short block or two up from the Parsonage and il Borgo, Italian, also a few blocks up). Public transportation (bus) is right out the door and additional "munis" are on Market Street, a short walk away. We found the location convenient to everywhere we wanted to go-- we walked to the Mission and to the Haight, took a quick bus ride to the Embarcadero and walked along the waterfront from there; took a combination of bus and walk to get to North Beach. And you're not far from downtown, should you want to go there (but after staying at The Parsonage, I won't stay downtown (Union Square area) again. Also, when I said I was visiting my daughter, I didn't mean to imply that it's not a good place for young people to stay -- I think it would be an excellent place for anyone of any age.
Second, the hosts, Joan and John Hull, are charming, warm and overall quite terrific. Again, as others have said, we felt like we made new friends. The breakfasts are very good and Pilar, the Portuguese water dog, is a real treat if you're a dog lover.
Our room was lovely; the bed extremely comfortable. The street noise that some others mentioned did not bother us at all -- in fact, we hardly noticed any other than the occasional bus (and there are no buses after midnight and before around 6 or 7 in the a.m.) it was extremely quiet (our room overlooked Laguna Street).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

John and Joan and their dog, Pilar were terrific hosts. We're not "pet" people but we couldn't help but love Pilar. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast so it was a total switch from the modern full service contemporary hotels or small boutique hotels we're used to, but it was a very pleasant stay. Once we got used to the old, antique furnishings and historical charm it was fantastic---just quite different.

We used 3 rooms on the 3rd floor; there is an elevator if needed. Individual rooms do not have TV's and there tends to be traffic noise--both adjustments for us the first night. The rooms were cool so they had a portable heater for each room or we could have used the fireplace. Wireless internet worked great! The breakfasts were delicious and special, and being able to share a meal with guests from other areas and hearing stories from Joan and John about San Francisco and the home's history made it very enjoyable. The place is loaded with interesting historical decor and many books to read. The bathrooms were modern and beds were so very comfortable!

It's in a great location of Hayes Valley with restaurants, small parks, boutiques, coffee houses and public transportation relatively close by (but be prepared for the hills).
It's not a 5-star hotel, but a bed and breakfast that deserves 5 stars for providing a great, memorable place to stay!

Room Tip: Our group used 3 rooms on the 3rd floor. Worked well as we had a small common TV area to congregate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Comfortable rooms. Elegant common areas, Excellent individually prepared breakfasts-little choice, though.

Room Tip: We preferred the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at The Parsanage while visiting our son who lives in Hayes Valley. After staying at many B&B's during our visits to SF, we feel we've definitely found a "home away from home" and more! Our room was amazing, and the B&B itself is beautiful as well, with many comfortable and interesting spaces to relax. Katrina and Pat were so accommodating as far as providing helpful information about touring SF, and the best places to shop for a meal we were preparing for our son and his roommates. Katrina not only advised where to go to shop, but provided scenic routes to all our destinations. While traveling from the bakery to the butcher, she sent us through the Presidio and on the way back up a street with such incredible views we had to stop and take pictures. Needless to say, the meal was a great success, thanks to Katrina's advice, and the meat thermometer she loaned us. The breakfasts were wonderful, and so was the conversation. Our son joined us on our last day, and we all enjoyed the company of a couple from Brazil, a couple from Scotland and a couple from Canada. Not being a morning person, I'm not always up for socialing at breakfast, but the atmosphere created by Katrina and Pat led to a very pleasant experience each day. The Parsonage is not only the best B&B we've stayed at in SF, but ranks far above any others we've experienced throughout our travels around the world.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Wonderful hosts creating an environment where You can feel at home. Very nice house that definitely lets You experience that You are staying in a home, not in a hotel.

Diverse neighborhood - close to interesting restaurants as well as to touristy spots like the 'painted ladies'.

Bus stop close to the house, although I did prefer the short stroll to the market street to board one of the F-line streetcars.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterw_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
980 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
230 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
441 reviews
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 72 in San Francisco
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 198 Haight St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $220 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage is an architectural treasure in the heart of San Francisco's historic Hayes Valley, within easy walking distance of the opera house and some of the city's most dynamic restaurants. The elegant bedrooms have excellent queen beds, multiple pillows, superior linens, a marble shower, and good light; some have working fireplaces and/or views; one has a Victorian claw-footed bathtub. With superb access to public transportation, it is within blocks of highway 101, and walking distance of BART. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Parsonage Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing