We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Did the trick” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #137 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Did the trick”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here our last night in San Francisco after a few days traveling north of the city. The location was fine, right in the middle of Chinatown/North Beach, with plenty of restaurants and stores to walk to. The free parking was the main reason we chose the Royal Pacific. Our room was clean, there was a small tv (didn't get many channels, but that was ok, we weren't in the room too long), and again, the location was nice. My only real complaint is that the bed wasn't the most comfortable and there weren't many pillows (but I like A LOT of pillows, so that might just be me). Wasn't out of this world, but was fine for what we needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaWeinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    177
    136
    43
    13
See reviews for
100
172
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

San Francisco has many hotels that are well located and a few with free parking. But not many have both features. This old-style motel sits on the border of Chinatown and North Beach (little Italy). Walk down Grant Ave. to Chinatown shops and restaurants and up Grant to North Beach for wonderful coffee, restaurants, galleries and cute shops. Free wifi, good cable choices, and a copy of the San Francisco Chronicle, too! Short walk to the cable-car line. For those in good shape, you can walk to Coit Tower. If you are used to the Ritz Carlton, this is not the place for you. But it has good-sized rooms, is clean, comfortable and if you can live with 70’s decor, you are in the right place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaFanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good value for the money - on the edge of China Town. Definitely recommend as long as you don't mind motel (doors to outside) style and an older, renovated property. The place has a great feel to it - the staff keep to themselves but are friendly and helpful if you ask for directions or assistance. They have onsite, included parking, which was great and a pretty rare find in San Fran. Our room (306) was great - bathroom was renovated and clean - room was huge with a huge shared (with one other room) balcony overlooking the action on Broadway. Location feels very safe and comfortable. We walked for blocks in every direction and were never uncomfortable. The street can be noisy so if you're a light sleeper it might not be your cup of tea but we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WadeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I ended up staying at this hotel for a conference at the Moscone Center after my original hotel near Union Square got overbooked. It was a pretty solid walk to the Moscone Center (25-30 min) but it's also really easy to catch one of several buses that go straight downtown. This hotel is also very close to many markets and restaurants in Chinatown and North Beach (essentially Little Italy). An awesome view from Coit Tower is also a short walk away. The hotel itself was decent. It's nothing fancy and the rooms are a bit dated, but it was clean and the staff was very nice, which are 2 of the most important things.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenicium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Love this place...free parking! And he up graded my visit. Staff is very nice and i love the location...where in the city can you go across the street and get an amazing dinner for 12.69$! That would be Man Kee..!

Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful when asked for directions etc, but we did have to ask (ie businesslike rather than hospitable). Great to get free parking here but it can take some manoeuvring to park a mid size car (I'm told this is still better than many other central motels in SF). Once at the motel you don't need a car much anyway as this is a very handy location with good public transport connections. Neighbourhood is interesting, with a lively night life on the weekend. The motel appears to attract a wide mix of guests, including a significant number young men in party mood - not that they caused any problems. The motel is close to the red light district but street noise was only noticeable one night out of three (Saturday before Halloween) and we felt quite safe. If noise worries you you probably shouldn't stay in Chinatown, but the immediate street front of the motel is actually relatively quiet most of the time. Rooms seem to have adequate noise insulation.
Hint: wander around the back streets of Chinatown a little - much more interesting than the tourist strip.

Room Tip: Street frontage rooms are probably noisier as they are not far off the road/sidewalk but they do mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location with easy access to restaurants and pbars (Columbus Avenue) and sightseeing. Parking is included! Room was clean and better than what was expected on other reviews. We faced the street and the street noise was minimal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#120 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#107 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#177 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#118 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Property: Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing