We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China Town Action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Pacific Motor Inn to your Saves list
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“China Town Action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location with easy access to restaurants and pbars (Columbus Avenue) and sightseeing. Parking is included! Room was clean and better than what was expected on other reviews. We faced the street and the street noise was minimal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Modesto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were greeted with a friendly smile! Check in was quick and easy, we liked the free parking!We received a room on the 5th floor that was clean and a nice size (12' X12.4') not including the bathroom which was clean and looked like it had been updated recently. The bed is comfy too. There was traffic noise but for the location, we did OK for the night. Ken, one of the office staff helped us open a bottle of wine. We will stay again!

Room Tip: Bring your own feather pillow if you like them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in September 2012. It's an old style motel with a large car park and a very small lobby and doesn't look much from the street, but it was clean and comfortable and we loved the location. We had a large room facing the street with a shared balcony and view across Chinatown to the Oakland Bay Bridge in the middle distance. Our room had tea and coffee making facilities and an old TV. The bathroom was ok, with a good hot water service.
The surrounding area is quite run-down and most of the residents are elderly Chinese. It 's an interesting area to explore on foot, and is about 15 minutes walk downhill to Union Square. We also walked to the excellent Cable Car Museum and to Portsmouth Square, and you can walk through Little Italy to Fishermen's Wharf.
The staff were friendly and will print boarding passes for you. The free wifi worked very well in the lobby, but was a bit on-and-off in our room.
The area is quite dirty and noisy during the day, but we are used to such areas and it wasn't a problem for us. The traffic noise dies down about 11 pm and starts up around 5 am.
It was a bit expensive at A$176 per night with no breakfast, but it's worth it for the convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Central Location in SF, 20 minutes to Fishermans Wharf and 20 minutes to Union Square with plenty of other things to see in the vicinity.
The hotel staff were very accommodating when we decided to stay an extra night and moved other bookings around so we could stay in our same room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ideally situated,friendly staff,clean room. Not a 4 star but excellent value for money. As we spent all day etc sight seeing, suited us fine. Part of our 5 week California, Hawaai tour, The Pacific was a Budget few days in SF. Laundrette on ground floor worked well. Gave up our car for this part of tour, Hotel was handy for Bus, Tram to City Centre, Fishermans Wharf etc.
Would recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for inside room over car park, not street facing, could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jadewood41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

There is nothing royal in this hotel! The staff was very friendly, but when we made complaints about our room, they could not do anything, just gave us a paper to fill in which they could then forward to the owner. The room was very small, not very clean and we had no refridgerator. Our wardrobe's door was broken. The bed was quite uncomfortable. Gladly the location was perfect for us, short distance to Union Square and all the nice bars in the North Beach area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChampagneSatellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First of all the positives, the hotel is situated in a great spot, about 15-20 minutes walk to Fishermans Wharf, and right next to Chinatown and Little Italy. Mostly everything was within walking distance.
The room was clean and there was free parking included which is a big bonus, however this was a very expensive hotel with next to no facilities.We paid 698 dollars for 3 nights stay at the end of September! Which was more than we were quoted at the beginning. There was no air conditioning, it was EXTREMELY noisy, there was no fridge (which we could have done with) or microwave, the T.V. was not up to much, although to be fair we were not there to watch T.V., the wi-fi was not very good and it is close to the local fire station so there are sirens going very often including half the night and the walls are thin, so you can hear other guests including when their showers were turned on as well as all the street noise.
It is very basic, and scruffy, although clean inside the room.
The maid leaves a couple of danish pastries and there is a coffee maker in the bathroom with coffee, whitener, and sugar but that's it. We travelled for two weeks up the Californian coast from L.A. to San Francisco and this was the most expensive and least value for money place we had stayed including Hollywood, Long Beach, Santa Barbara and many more.
Even with the location and parking we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, not the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyjeavons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#113 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,863 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#100 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#109 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#17 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#152 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing