We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Minna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minna Hotel
Ranked #188 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a great value hotel in the centre of San Francisco. Yes, the rooms are small and the neighbourhood at the east end of the street seems a little sketchy (although I never felt unsafe, and neither did my girlfriend), but the beds are comfortable and the rates are very affordable.

The staff at the Pontiac are great, and there's a kitchen and breakfast room on the ground floor. Continental breakfast is complimentary. If you're looking for a hotel in San Francisco and don't want to pay for a fancy room at a big chain hotel then I'd certainly recommend the Pontiac.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    52
    29
    39
See reviews for
7
61
32
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The Pontiac is in a rough area (I would recommend arriving during daylight) but once you step out the door during daytime it's fine. The staff are FANTASTIC. Rooms are tiny but it didn't bother us. Also just down the road from Dottie's - best breakfast ever but the wait can be long but it's worth it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna and Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The price is good, but you have to adapt. As other reviews say, if you are looking for a place to sleep and then you are going to spend your day visiting San Francisco, this place is ok. If you plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel, maybe you should spend a little bit more money and find a more comfortable hotel.

The place is run down and would need renovation. But it's very cheap considering the prices of San Francisco … So you get what you pay for.

Location is good because it is pretty central, but at the same time the area might look a little bit unsafe. However, I have to admit that we didn't have the problems I would have expected (which means no crazy people in the street when we came back at night).

The staff is very nice and helpful. They make you feel welcome and secure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seremariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nynashamn, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I think i was expecting too much but you can't beat the price considering how close it is to everything. The rooms are clean and ok, but the shared bathrooms are terrible and in need of refurbishment. The staff is very nice but i would consider a different place to stay if you're not short on cash.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maciekish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The bed and equipment are basic, but the price is unbeatable. Some people might not appreciate that the bathrooms are shared. The neighbourhood might irritate the unexperienced, but it is not as dangerous as people say. Try the restaurant Tu Lan for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Got a double bed for two. Very average, small room which had a bad odour to it. However, it was in a good location, very close to Union square and also they serve a great complimentary breakfast. Be wary of walking on the streets at night though as there are a lot of homeless people around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My stay in the hotel was quite OK for the money I paid. Well, if you are thinking of staying there, you have to clearly understand that that is a budget place, which means you don’t pay a lot, and that is why you cannot expect much. The bottom line is: if you go to SF for a night or two, OR, if you plan to spend most of you time in a hotel room, I would recommend staying in a more upgraded and upscale accommodation; however, if you plan an extended stay, which was my case, and you need a decent, functional, and safe (but very simple) place only to crash at night, get up in the morning, and keep exploring the city next day, - this place is quite appropriate!
The room, which was private – I didn’t share it with anybody, was quite small, but OK for one person. It wouldn’t have hurt if the room itself had been a bit cleaner, but the bed, sheets, pillows and things like that were clean, not overused or worn out. Bathrooms/restrooms and showers are shared, but I have to tell you, they are very clean and very well taken care of, which was a very pleasant surprise! So, if you don’t mind sharing – there’s nothing to be scared of. There are a few of them, so you don’t have to wait in line – well, at least I didn’t have to. Breakfast was nothing fancy, but, again, it was quite OK and healthy to start your day. There are a lot of really good restaurants within a walking distance anyway, where I went for lunch and dinner. The BEST and the GREATEST asset of the hotel is the staff. People at the front desk are amazingly friendly, knowledgeable, polite, helpful… and I can go on with the list forever. The worst feature of the hotel is the neighbourhood where it is located. Although it is not the hotel’s fault, but rather the problem of most big cities, but the abundance of homeless people, beggar, hustler, prostitutes, etc. made me nervous. My advice: avoid 6th street; use 7th instead.
Overall, it’s you choice. The best thing to do not to spoil you vacation/stay is to go places without faulty expectations. I think I didn’t that’s why I liked my trip to SF. Pontiac hotel contributed to it. As I said, I liked the staff. Should I go to SF again for an expended visit where I would only need a place to stay overnight, I would most likely consider staying in this place again. Otherwise, I would choose something fancier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiroToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
394 reviews
Layne Hotel
#202 of 229 in San Francisco
257 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#189 of 229 in San Francisco
615 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#154 of 229 in San Francisco
845 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#177 of 229 in San Francisco
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minna Hotel

Property: Minna Hotel
Address: 509 Minna St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2893
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Minna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing