We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sceptic to Convert - Not a Detail Missed”
Review of Coi

Coi
Reserve with OpenTable
Coi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #818 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, Japanese, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Between Montgomery and Sansome
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sceptic to Convert - Not a Detail Missed”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Actually happy for the "bad" reviews of Coi, because they brought my expectations back down to earth.

What a pleasure to have these lowered expectations blown away by the FANTASTIC service and food experience last night at Coi.

Sorry, but I can't think of a thing that the messed up. And while all of the courses were super, at least 3 were taste experiences I didn't think we're possible.

Well worth the money, well worth the time. Don't miss out on this taste experience while you have the opportunity.

@tmgardiner for course pics and details

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    40
    31
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good not great, not that much food”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Man. For a base price of 175/person without the wine pairing, I honestly expected more FOOD with the tasting menu. Just wasn't that much quantity. I was satisfied by the end of the meal, but I just didn't feel like I got my money's worth. The food itself was pretty good, with some dishes that were definitely stellar (steak was great, and there was a whipped coconut dessert that was awesome). But having been to a bunch of "top-tier" restaurants in between NYC, SF, Tokyo, HK, etc., I feel like restaurants like Coi are pretty much a dime a dozen and this didn't stand out in any way. Basically, if you want to blow 200/person on dinner, there are definitely yummier ways of doing that, even if you stick to just SF.

Service was absolutely fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A culinary experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Currently number 58 on the list of the world's best restaurants (as rated by S. Pellegrino), Coi offers a truly unique experience. More of an experience than mere food, Coi excels in all areas. The service was the best I have ever received at a restaurant and the food was simply exquisite. Foodwise, the only places that really can compete - that I have personally been to - is Matbaren in Stockholm or Glass Hostaria in Rome. Coi is such a grand and excessive experience that it is best reserved for those special occations - otherwise it is simply too much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Sweetness..”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Coi is one sweet place! The Crew is wonderful, the food will make your eyes roll back into your head and the space and vibe is comfortable but still very special and classy without being too distracting. Some Restaurants are all about the Chef but this Restaurant is all about food. I'd say the smoking, low temperature cooking, foraging and dreaming translates better than you can ever imagine and I'd come back for sure since the value and experience is phenomenal. What sets Coi apart from other aspirational high dollar establishments is they are not just assembling plates at Dinnertime and the Staff is nice and really enthusiastic while still maintaining the Library quiet and not distracting from the masterpiece in front of you. Great wine, Sake etc. and nice bullet point descriptions of the food and drink without keeping you from the business at
hand. Bonus points for the Chef --and Staff-- who answered ANY detailed questions about how they made a certain dish or verify an ingredient. Loved Coi!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Challenger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a small restaurant that carries style and comfort the moment you set foot in the door. The food is degustation which I love as there are no decisions to be made. They accommodate those who have food issues without any fuss. All their produce is grown either by the chef or is local. The freshness you can definitely taste. Wine list had an excellent selection and we were guided by the sommelier to wines we were unfamiliar with. This was a great restaurant, palate totally satisfied and wine definitely went down well. Would highly recommend this restaurant as an overall experience of food, wine and service as excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coi also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Coi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing