We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super restful and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #26 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed on the 8th floor facing Bush Street and it was QUIET. We heard no street noise at all and no noise from any adjoining rooms. There was absolutely no smell whatsovever to the room. Completely neutral. The mattresses were firm and the pillows were light and fluffy, as were the sheets. The bathroom well designed and the organic bath products were good, too. You have to put in your room key card to turn on the lights. One item that did not work was our fridge and the internet was down in our room, but the staff offered to remedy that. Good location -- adjacent to Union Square, Chinatown, and within walking distance to the Ferry Bldg at Embarcardero. I highly recommend this hotel and I've stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels domestically and in Europe.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank sgtmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights and couldn't fault anything!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, all of the staff were friendly and helpful, answering any questions we had.

Room was cozy, with an amazing comfortable bed. Bathroom was spacious with good lighting & shower pressure. Both were very clean, as were all the public areas. Did not get disturbed by any external noise at night.

Location was excellent right next to Chinatown and only about 10 min walk to North Beach and Union Square, 20 min to Ferry Building and a couple of blocks to a cable car stop. Lots of places to eat nearby.

Enjoyed sitting on the hotel roof terrace, with a bottle of wine one evening, catching the last rays of sun.

Had a fantastic time in San Francisco and it was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The Orchard Garden is a pleasant, comfortable place to stay. The room was not large, but quite adequate; bathroom spacious. Opt for the rooms with street view. Their "Only in San Francisco" package is a good bet--includes Muni-Cable car passes, museum admissions, boat tour and continental breakfast. Delicious scones, croissants, fruit for breakfast. Really tasty french fries at the bar. Convenient location--right next to Chinatown Gate, only a few blocks to Union Sqare and Market Street. For dinner, try the European cafes on nearby Belden Alley.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmoyn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Everything was spot on with the Orchard Garden Hotel! From the staff at the front desk, the gentleman at the door, even the housekeeping. It was clean, friendly and very accommodating. I would recommend this to everyone!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it fully. Location was perfect and away from all the noise but still close enough to walk to Union Square. Modern and chic hotel and huge bathroom. I would stay here again. (i'm from Vancouver, Canada) LEED certified is a bonus too and FREE WiFi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netherlands80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This was a terrific hotel, probably our favorite on our 9 day stay in 5 cities in California. Great rooms, great bed, great location, great price--especially for the downtown location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smbulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We had a great stay at this hotel. The room was big, clean and comfortable; reception staff friendly and helpful; and the location is second to none - easy walking distance to Union Square and Market Street, and the tram stops just outside. And for such a central location, the room was remarkably quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shep10910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
2,894 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,249 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $225 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing