We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Small Hotel in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #22 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here last year and loved it, so we decided to come again for two nights. The room is just right - not too small and not too big, with extremely comfortable beds. Prices are reasonable, and the location is great. The key to the hotel is the people. Every member of the staff is always friendly. It's a home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaxupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Let me be the first to say thank you for your loyalty. We have so many guests, like yourself that return time and time again. Our entirely team really get the opportunity to know you well, and treat you like one of the family. We are delighted to hear that your visit has been an excellent experience, that we are consistently keeping a high standard. Thank you for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again and again….
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

I loathe the costs associated with staying in downtown San Fran. Whether I'm traveling solo, with friends or for business, I can't justify dropping nearly half a grand on a single night. It's why I typically stick to the offerings along the city's coastline or the simple motor inns off Lombard.

Finding myself on a 1-day layover this time however, I needed something that was central to the heart of the city but with easy access to the BART to get around. My wallet gently wept at the thought. When my search turned up the Orchard Garden Hotel however, I was surprised by the incredible value it offered at what was actually a reasonable price (relative to the area).

The property didn't disappoint either. Front desk service was prompt and friendly, allowing my time-crunched self to get up to my room quickly. The room itself was fantastic - similar in concept to upscale properties I've stayed at in Japan - with a number of features that played off of its dedication to green service. It was also extremely quiet, which was surprising considering the location off of Bush Street. As I was hopping a red-eye the next morning, the relative silence was a huge plus in my book.

The location was really key though. At the literal entrance to Chinatown, I was able to have a fantastic meal, meet up with an acquaintance and enjoy downtown while still being within walking distance of the hotel. That spot alone made it worth the money. My only regret was not being able to enjoy the property and the bay area longer.

It's not to say this place is faultless - I found it odd that there was no vent in the bathroom for clearing steam and the desk space was awkward had I needed to actually get work done - but the Orchard Garden offered a truly wonderful stay at a relatively reasonable value. Their location, dedication to service, and green initiatives all in all made it worth it. Should I ever find myself needing to stay in the area again, the Orchard will easily be the pick.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblingTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. Yet, to hear that you will choose to stay with us again makes us even more grateful. We can’t help but agree with you on our location. The shopping, the restaurants, the sightseeing….The only decision you really have to make is which direction to go out from our front door? We are also thrilled to hear you enjoyed the comfy rooms. We appreciate your comments about the bathroom ventilation and work space in the guest room. We assure you that we have addressed them to the Management for their attentions. We value guest’s feedback; it allows us to improve our service and offerings to meet with your expectations and to that, we are grateful. Once again for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Came here for one night. . Close to center of town. Convenient to cable cars if you want to ride them. Hotel is clean and staff was very helpful. Great roof deck to enjoy morning coffee and enjoy views of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for the great review! A wonderful experience is what we are all about. Glad to hear that we did not disappoint you, and that you have a great time staying with us. Come back soon to again explore this beautiful city. Take care and safe travel.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had an overnight stay a Orchard Gardens as we transited through San Francisco. We found a purpose built small hotel, that opened in 2006. What a surprise not to be in an older property that, at best, had simply been refurbished. The rooms were functional and comfortable, and more than adequately sized. The staff that we encountered were efficient and courteous. The only issue that we experienced was that the hotel dining room only operated for breakfast, which was inconvenient.
Overall, we were happy enough with the Hotel to organise a return stay for a few days who we return to SFO in a few weeks time.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all rooms were identical. Street front rooms on lower floors would be noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. The Orchard Garden is proud to be the first green certified hotel here in San Francisco. We are completely newly built from the ground and open in the year of 2006. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Your overall experience is good and your expectation is met with satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenient may cause to you due to the hours of service at the restaurant. We sincerely hope that this will not detour your choice to come back to stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

and it makes one's visit to San Francisco even more enjoyable, being able to walk everywhere and having so many restaurants/shops/areas accessible. The hotel was planned with such taste, exterior of the building very pleasing , and it exudes an invitation to enter. Once inside, one is welcomed warmly by superior front desk staff and a doorman who offers excellent services, say getting a cab, parking for a short time or even a quick restaurant tip. We paid a somewhat hefty price for the room due to a convention, am not sure I agree with the flexible price arrangement, i.e. hotels charge what they deem they can obtain depending on groups in town etc., I asked for a lower price if I were to extend one night, they said two nights from then price would be quite a bit lower but could only offer a very slight reduction for my requested night.
Many things about this hotel rate very high, the clean appearance, efficient lobby area, green attitude and rooms modern with calm colors and art work. Appreciated the orange/lemon flavored water in the lobby at all times, however, there was no coffee/tea service in the morning, which for the price think that would have been a nice touch. I could not award five stars because for a lovely hotel of this type, they are letting things slip just a bit...the furniture in the lobby looks very worn and needs either cleaning or new upholstery, as did the chair in our room. The door on the mini fridge was broken as was the phone, neither of which bothered us, but should be addressed, rooms should be checked for these items. Also, not many amenities in the bath, but as a green hotel, that is fine with me, however, towels for the most part looked very worn, towels should be retired at the first sign of serious wearing out, in a hotel such as this one...makes a big difference to enter the bath and see nice fluffy, white towels. There was mild noise in our room but not enough to complain about, and room was light and airy. Would stay here again, and I hope hotel keeps itself upgraded...too nice of one not to.

Room Tip: rooms facing Bush St will have some noise, rooms in back will not, but will be not as light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for selecting the Orchard Garden Hotel as your choice accommodation during your recent visit to San Francisco. We are so happy that the exterior of the building has pleased you so much and the interior of the hotel makes you felt warmly welcomed. As we know, hotel room rate in San Francisco could be expensive and is deem on the demands from the citywide activities. We agree with you that our location is just Superb! We are convenient located to most of the business and leisure attractions. We appreciate your detailed comments on some areas that you have addressed to our attention. We value guest feedback, they allow us to better improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectation. Your review has given us valuable information on the guests’ perspective and to that, we are grateful. Once again, thank you for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you are a tourist, this is the location you are looking for. Either everything is walking distance or you have good access to SFO's excellent public transportation. Beds and linens are super nice, rooms are good sized, clean and quiet (in a busy area, so keep this in mind) and bathrooms are in pretty good shape. Towels need upgrading, though.
We liked it here, but there are a couple of things that bothered us, and we stayed for 5 nights. The night shift staff, always the same guy, is one of the most unpleasant desk persons I've ever met. He didn't even try to answer a "good evening", and this ain't a cheap motel. Every time we approached him with a request, three times in 5 nights, for directions and such, he made us feel we were the most annoying guests ever. And we're not at all like that. You cannot have bad mannered staff if you charge up to $400 a night!! The day staff, which varied, were ok. The doorman was super nice.
The other weird thing is the hotel makes a point of advertising how super eco and green they are, and to some avail they try, but there is this HUGE ivory elephant tusk showcased in the main hallway towards the elevators. That, Orchard Garden Hotel owner/manager, is far from green, regardless of cultural background.
All in all, a good experience.

Room Tip: If you book in advance you are likely to get a good deal ($180 or so). Don't spend over $240 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are happy to hear that you have liked our well appointed room considering they are one of the most important elements we offer our guest. We couldn't agree with you more regarding our location. You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco from our doors. Please accept our sincere apology on the way that our associate has treated you in some occasions. In no way this represents the level of service we aim to provide for our guests. Please rest assured, your comments have been addressed to the concerned personnel and department for their immediate attentions and improvements. In regards to your feedback about the HUGE piece of showcased in the main hallway, we want to assure you and every guest that it is NOT ivory elephant tusk. It is made of plastic. We are so proud of ourselves being a green hotel. We will continue to delegate our utmost efforts to protect Mother Nature. Once again, we appreciate your comments, and glad to hear that your overall experience is good. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A nice and clean hotel. Big and quiet.room The location is great. A few blocks from restaurants, stores, and a Shopping center.Union Square is also close. Near Chinatown. My only concern was about the parking, very expensive, but the vallet service is efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you felt the room has lived up to your expectation. You also liked the convenient location of the hotel. We have to agree, travelling with a vehicle could be expensive here in San Francisco. Please check out our promotional package deal that includes parking on your next trip in town. Once again, thank you for the time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,855 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
2,145 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,248 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,363 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $207 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing