We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #20 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here November 2013 on the first leg of our honeymoon. The staff were extremely friendly, and eager to help us with planning our activities whilst in San Fran. Having someone direct us in the right areas was very beneficial, as you don't want to make a wrong turn in San Fran.
The room was spacious, clean and perfect for our trip. Perfect location for the tram and walking into union square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Let me be the first to say thank you for the loyalty. It is our great honor to have you come back to stay with us again after your honeymoon trip last year in November. We are pleased that you have liked our spacious and clean room; and found the hotel perfectly located for your travelling plan. Thank you for the kind words about the staffs, we are extremely lucky to have such a wonderful team of employee’s that sincerely care about our guests and the experiences. We work together with one goal in mind. Your Satisfaction! We are pleased to hear we met, even exceeded your expectations. Come back and see you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    464
    97
    27
    17
See reviews for
294
593
102
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Orchard Garden Hotel and found it to be perfect for us. The location is ideal, at the bottom of Grant Ave. in Chinatown, where we walked the hilly streets several times. Across the street is a charming French cafe where we enjoyed breakfast outdoors, as the weather was unseasonably warm. The staff at the hotel was friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean. What more could we ask. Great location, location, location. We would not hesitate to stay there the next time we are in SF.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capemaggieCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you kindly for the great review. We are thrilled to hear we did not disappoint you, and equally excited to hear that you will be staying with us again. You certainly said it best with “location…..” you can’t beat where we are positioned downtown with convenient access to all kinds of activities. Appreciate your compliments about the staffs, will share the feedback with the team here. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. Look forward to welcoming back you.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Like some of the reviews say on here, this hotel does have a few drawbacks, namely the lobby/restaurant is a bit underwhelming (and often closed) although the food was fine the times we did eat there.

However, for my purpose (business trip) the hotel was exactly what was required. Rooms were spacious, spotless and well appointed with good air con and a mini bar. Staff were pleasant, not overbearing and had a sense of humour. Rooms were silent and dark, even if the view (room 202) wasn't exactly inspiring.

Room service was non intrusive but as frequent as you needed, and the room service team were always friendly when approached. The hotel is well positioned near to China Town, and every taxi we took back to it knew exactly where it was which was useful.

Essentially this is a no brainer hotel for when you don't want to worry about what it will be like, but also have no great desire to need loads of hotel facilities or bells and whistles. It's a solid performer.

Room Tip: the X02 rooms (102, 202 etc) are at the back and dark and silent, although they do look over some so...
See more room tips
Green Features: Did the usuals - notes and cards to encourage people to be eco friendly.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpgough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience. While we are happy to hear that you have liked our well-appointed guest room. Aside from the location, I would say our staff is what makes this hotel so special. Not only are they great at doing the necessary daily business, but it’s the extra attention that they all seem to consistently put forth. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I did my research before going to San Francisco as we really wanted to stay at a good boutique hotel, that was well located and confortable, the Orchard Garden seemed like a good match. However I found the hotel to be too expensive for what I received, the hotel has no lobby whatsoever, we arrived late on thursday night and there was no one to help us with our bags nor were we offered the service. The room was extremely small, with direct view to the rooms in the adjacent building. There are absolutely no toilettries in the restrooms, appart from soap and shampoo bottles bolted to the wall. The room cleaning service wasnt good either, they pretty much left the empty wrappers and water bottles in the same place we left them, even the towels weren't folded again, we wanted to save water and reuse them, but common, you can at least fold them up! In few words, not worth the money.

Green Features: I'm all in for eco-friendly places, however not so much a fan when properties hide behind this policy to be cheap on additional services.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry that your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies in some areas during your stay. At the Orchard Garden Hotel, we strive to provide every guest with a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and product. It has appeared that we fell short of your expectation and our goal during your stay. We want to assure that we have taken your comments very seriously to heart and will begin immediately in rectifying all the issue with concerned departments and personnel for the attentions and improvement. We value guest feedback, positive and negative, allows us to improve our service and offerings to meet our guest’s expectations. Your detailed reviews has given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. I invite you to contact me directly in making the room reservation on your next trip in town. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future, and your experience of true Orchard Garden Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondovi, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have been there at my arrival in San Francisco. The welcome at the reception was very good, in the further days the staff has been polite but very ‘cold’. The room was clean but not so big nor particularly comfortable. The position is central, and well connected with the public transport. The price was good, but they refuse to confirm the same condition in the next weekend, so I forced to change hotel.

Sono stato là al mio arrivo in SF. L'accoglenza alla reception è stata buona, nei giorni successivi il personale è stato gentile ma freddo. La stanza era pulita ma non molto grande nè particolarmente confortevole. La posizione è centrale e molto ben connessa con i trasporti pubblici. Il prezzo era molto buono, ma hanno rifiutato di confermarmelo per il week end successivo, così sono stato costretto a cambiare hotel,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianpaolo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the experiences. We are pleased that you have liked the hotel location which is centrally connected to most of public transportation. We appreciate very much your feedback about the Front Office Staffs. We strive to provide a consistent and exceptional service to every guest. It has appeared that we fell short of your expectation during your stay. Rest assured, we have addressed your comments to the concerned personnel and department for the attentions and improvements. We are so sorry that we were not able to offer you the same rate that you have booked through the 3rd party website. For your information, the hotel room rates here in San Francisco are subject to change frequently and based on the actual business demands. However, we try our very best to match any published rates if possible. I invite you to contact me personally on your next trip if you have any question about the availability and rate. Thanks again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Clean, comfortable, quiet rooms! The room was very comfortable, towels smelled fresh and were very soft. If you are looking for a comfortable stay with a great location this is the place. I would highly recommend to family and friends. Staff was very professional and eager to help, thanks Carrie for all of your help!

Green Features: This is a green hotel and I respect that, showers could use a bit more pressure but did the job.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the great review! At the Orchard Garden Hotel, we strive to provide every guest with a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and product. From your notes, it sounds like that we have accomplished the goal we set out for. Aside, from the location, I would say our staff is what makes this hotel so special. They are so caring, sincere and always willing to help our guest in any way that they could possibly manage. We appreciate very much of your compliments and will share them with the team here especially to Carrie. Thanks and hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

1. The rooms are very clean. I don't have any complaints from the bed to the floor to the toilet. I don't find the room small. We had 2 double bed. My husband and I have 2 of our kids with us in the room and I find the size quite right for us. The beds are comfortable.
2. I like the idea of having the big dispenser for shampoo, conditioner and body wash instead of having them in little containers that we end up throwing in the trash.
3. Hotel is located right beside the chinatown entrance so if you're into chinese food, it's very convenient. If you're up to shopping at union square, then you have to stay in a hotel in union square. It's a 10-15 minute walk from this hotel but if you have children with you, and you want to hit the malls, then better to stay in union square. For us, we don't mind walking to union square. Orchard garden hotel's location is quiet.
4. Free wifi which is great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate5142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you have liked our well appointed room. Aren't the beds comfortable? Lot of our guest even wants to buy one for their home! As you mentioned the location is pretty stellar. Shops, restaurants, sightseeing and transportation…. are just round the corner from our hotel. We appreciate very much for the kind words and commending us on our efforts as an eco-conscious hotel. Thanks again for doing this. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Property: Orchard Garden Hotel
Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2006, The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing state-of-the-art amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! Built to the national standards of green building developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the hotel is also California's debut of a guest room key card energy control system, which reduces an overall of 20% energy consumption. The Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. Whether you are at our Roots restaurant eating locally sourced foods or relaxing on our rooftop garden, you will be at ease with us. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing