We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #22 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Located next to Chinatown between Union Square and the financial district, the hotel was walking distance to most sights. Front office staff was very helpful in providing directions.
Only disappointment was the room itself, which was a bit small and had absolutely no view as the window was facing directly into the building next to the hotel. Also, the bathroom had a sliding door which when closed still left a small gap between the door and the frame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_D_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. Although it seems you enjoyed your visit, I do apologize for the shortcomings you experienced. True, space is an issue in San Francisco. Our hotel was erected in 2006 in between two historical buildings, so some rooms are cozier than others. I am pleased to read our team was accommodating and helpful with directions. I feel very fortunate to work with such a passionate team. We all hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    466
    98
    27
    17
See reviews for
295
595
102
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I'm so glad I picked this hotel for a family stay in SF. It was right in the middle of everything with all the shopping at your feet and easy access to public transport. Still, the room was very quiet (except for AC...). The staff was very helpful with transports, restaurants etc. Wifi was free and worked well. We loved our suite with queen bed and sofa bed. Mind you, the sofa bed was on the small side for two teen agers, but all in all there was enough space in the room. There was a roof top terrace where you could bring your own drinks. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Green Features: One thing: Shampoo etc should be in dispensers instead of in small plastic bottles.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the very kind review. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay and got to see so much of San Francisco. The rooftop terrace is a perfect place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Good rest is imperative in between days of adventuring through such a hilly city, I am so sorry the A/C was louder than it should be. We will have our engineers do some preventive maintenance on the units to ensure this does not continue. All of us here hope to see you and family again soon.

All the best,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here as a family of four. The hotel is centrally located, so easy to get around. The rooms are on the small side (but this is normal for city hotels). The bathroom was a good size. As we were four people, the beds were double and therefore a bit on the small side for two people to share. There is no movie service in the room. There was a DVD player but the DVD collection from receiption is very limited with mostly old films. In this day and age, who use DVDs anymore? Our DVD player was broken so we had to get it replaced as our kids wanted to watch a movie. They replaced it the following morning.

If you travel on business, this hotel is no good if you need decent internet connection. We tried to use the connection to book tickets at six flags online, but we could not get onto the site to book via our laptops. We tried using the business centre but their PCs were unacceptably old with an internet connection so slow it would be more interesting to watch paint dry.

The restaurant downstairs looked rather uninspiring, so we opted to eat elsewhere. As far as I could tell, very few people had food there. There was a small roof terrace which looked fine, but we did not use.

The guy on the door who met us on arrival was very friendly and helpful as was the other evening staff we met.

Room Tip: Beds too small for family of four. No good for business users who require better internet connection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your family vacation, we value your feedback. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the location. It is very convenient with so many sights within walking distance and others just a simple bus ride away.
I am sorry to hear you were inconvenienced with a slow Wi-FI connection during your stay. Did you contact the tech support by chance? Often they can remotely increase the bandwidth. We also just had more access point installed for a faster and stronger connection. We would have been happy to print Six Flags tickets for you and we could have shared roller coaster stories upon your return.
There are so many amazing restaurants in San Francisco; I don’t blame you for venturing through the city and taking your pick. We are very excited to share that we have recently added a Prix Fixed Menu to the dinner service. It is an amazing 5 course special, the curry is delightful.
Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel was good, nice rooms and a good location. and the staff were friendly and helpful only bad thing was they emptied the wrong mini fridge for me. And I want a tree. The beds were comfy and the superior room was very superior and had a good view, I loved the Eco friendly approach, great location for catching the cable car, the fountain in the lobby was lovely and the decor was superb.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_is_the_name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Right on sista, we truly appreciate your superior review and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Although it seems your visit was above par, I sincerely apologize for the mini bar mix up. Thank you for commending us on our eco-conscious practices, because of you the Atlantic Rain Forrest in Brazil is a step closer to recovery. Thanks again for the very kind review; we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Perfect location right next door to the Chinatown Gate and within walking distance of Union Square, cable cars stops and bus stops. A lovely hotel, decent sized rooms and helpful staff. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you kindly for choosing to stay with us at the Orchard Garden Hotel. I am thrilled to hear the location was to your liking. It sounds like you had fun exploring San Francisco and seeing sites. I really like walking through Chinatown and visiting the little bakeries, there is nothing like a freshly baked coconut cocktail bun.
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

good location and very close everything. its only a few steps away from chinatown, many restaurants near by to choose from, and starbucks is at corner of the block. Theres also plenty of stores to shop at that are close to the hotel.

the orchard garden has a very nice rooftop to hang out at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank helen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The rooftop terrace has been a great place to unwind this year, with the weather we’ve had. Since it is rarely occupied it’s nice and quiet, such difference compared to the hustle and bustle of Union Square. It sounds like you enjoyed the surrounding area as well. Some of my favorite restaurants are just a few blocks away. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just completed a stay and had a great experience. Right next to gate of Chinatown and pretty close to public transportation, next to union square. Rooms are a bit small but to be expected for San Fran - and was very comfy/ clean. Staff was very nice and extremely helpful, would def recommend this place. One tip-note that the area itself is very hilly so if you are traveling someone easily winded or challenged mobility wise - might not be the best place. NOT at all a reflection on hotel - just a matter of topography of location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kak1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the stellar review and for choosing to stay with us for your San Francisco getaway. I am thrilled to read you had a great experience. It seems you really enjoyed the location and took advantage of the nearby public transportation to get you to some of the sites that are out of walking distance. Thanks again for recommending us to others and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
2,763 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
5,202 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
444 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Property: Orchard Garden Hotel
Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2006, The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing state-of-the-art amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! Built to the national standards of green building developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the hotel is also California's debut of a guest room key card energy control system, which reduces an overall of 20% energy consumption. The Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. Whether you are at our Roots restaurant eating locally sourced foods or relaxing on our rooftop garden, you will be at ease with us. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing